This is an archived article that was published on in 2015, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Navy has left the small group of college football independents, joining the American Athletic Conference in football only in 2015, meaning that BYU, Notre Dame and Army are the only schools going it alone.

Still, Phil Steele has named a 2015 Preseason Independent Team and eight BYU players made the first team and 10 others made the second team.

Offensively, quarterback Taysom Hill, running back Jamaal Williams, receiver Mitch Mathews and center Tejan Koroma made the first team.

Defensively, first teamers from BYU are defensive end Bronson Kaufusi and linebacker Manoa Pikula.

Kicker Trevor Samson and returner Adam Hine are special teams first-reamers.

The second-reamers are receivers Devon Blackmon and Mitchell Juergens, offensive linemen Ryker Mathews, Kyle Johnson and Tuni Kanuch, defensive linemen Travis Tuiloma and Graham Rowley, linebacker Troy Hinds and defensive back Michael Davis.

comments powered by Disqus