This is an archived article that was published on in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

There are only four independents in college football — Notre Dame, BYU, Army and Navy — so making an All-Independent team probably isn't all that prestigious. That's especially true of an All-Independent team in the preseason. But noted college football analyst Phil Steele is annually producing All-Independent teams now, and his latest iteration shows that nine BYU players made the preseason first team and seven more made the second team for the upcoming season. Five BYU defenders, three offensive players and a specialist made the first team: quarterback Taysom Hill, running back Jamaal Williams, incoming receiver Devon Blackmon, safety Craig Bills, defensive back Robertson Daniel, linebackers Alani Fua and Bronson Kaufusi, defensive end Remington Peck and running back Adam Hine. Cougars who made the second team include linebacker Manoa Pikula, defensive tackle Marques Johnson, offensive linemen Michael Yeck, Tuni Kanuch and Solomone Kafu, tight end Devin Mahina and punter Scott Arellano. Notre Dame had 10 first-teamers and nine second-teamers.

Idaho and New Mexico State were independents in 2013, but will join the Sun Belt Conference in 2014.

comments powered by Disqus