This is an archived article that was published on in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Warning for those of you who can't stand the hype: An array of those college football awards watch lists will come out this week. Actually, the deluge has already started as the Maxwell Award Watch List was released on Monday. A couple of BYU players — quarterback Taysom Hill and running back Jamaal Williams — are among the 76 players up for the award that goes to the College Player of the Year. It is one of 21 annual awards that has the blessing of the National College Football Awards Association. Utah's Dres Anderson and USU's Chuckie Keeton also made the list. Ty Detmer of BYU won the Maxwell Award in 1990. The watch list for the Bednarik (defensive) Award was also released Monday, but no Cougars are on that list. The only local player on that list is USU linebacker Kyler Fackrell. Tuesday, the Mackey Award (tight end) and Rimington Trophy (offensive center) watch lists will be announced. Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be named Nov. 3; finalists will be named Nov. 24 and the winner will be announced at the College Football Awards Show on Dec. 11. Both Hill and Williams are entering their junior seasons. Hill has rushed for 1,680 yards and is already BYU's all-time leader in rushing yards for a quarterback. Hill passed for 2,938 yards as a sophomore and has spent the offseason working on his passing, he said countless times at media day last month. He will attend the Manning Brothers passing camp later this week. Williams is in 10th place on BYU's career rushing yardage list and needs just 1,448 yards to catch the school's all-time rushing yardage leader, Harvey Unga. Last week, BYU linebacker Alani Fua was named to the College Football Performance Awards Linebacker Trophy Watch List.

comments powered by Disqus