Home » News
Home » News

Girls' golf: Desert Hills, Emery capture state titles

Published May 18, 2017 9:57 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2017, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Desert Hills ran away from the field to win the Class 3A girls' golf state championship Thursday at Sleepy Ridge Golf Course.

The Thunder finished with 612 points, well ahead of second-place Park City, which finished with 588. The tournament used the Stableford scoring system where the highest score wins.

Tori Thomas led Desert Hills with 167 points, while teammate Kijahna Plant finished with 161.

Dixie's Gracie Richens and Snow Canyon's Lexi Hamel also both scored 167 points.

Team scores (Stableford points) • 1. Desert Hills 612; 2. Park City 588; 3. Dixie 563; 4. Snow Canyon 561; 5. Bear River 548; 6. Ridgeline 540; 7. Juab 522; 8. Pine View 513; 9. Stansbury 511; (tie) Morgan 511.

Class 2A girls' state meet

Maddie Kwun captured the individual state title and teammate Zaria Thompson tied for second, but that wasn't enough to carry Rowland Hall to the team title at the one-day Class 2A girls' state tournament at Mountain View Golf Course.

Emery finished with 285 points to claim the state team crown, while Rowland Hall scored 276. Beaver was third with 263. The tournament used the Stableford scoring system where the highest score wins.

Sydnee Guyman led Emery with 77 points, good enough for fourth place.

Top 10 individuals (Stableford points) • 1. Maddie Kwun, Rowland Hall, 83; 2. Zaria Thompson, Rowland Hall, 79; (tie) Hayven Willden, Beaver, 79; 4. Sydnee Guyman, Emery, 77; 5. Taijah Price, Emery, 75; 6. Kayshlynn Wright, Beaver, 71; (tie) Joopy Bamrungmuang, Grand County, 71; 8. Shayla Patton, Delta, 69; 9. Lainee Jensen, Emery, 68; (tie) Sara Day, Grand County, 68.

Team scores • 1. Emery 285; 2. Rowland Hall 276; 3. Beaver 263; 4. Grand County 259; 5. Delta 252; 6. Providence Hall 234; 7. South Sevier 186; 8. Millard 174; 9. South Summit 131; 10. Layton Christian 124; 11. Waterford 132; 12. Manti 110; 13. San Juan 105.

— Kevin Winters Morriss




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus