Home » News
Home » News

Salty Cricket Composers Collective to perform "Plethora of Pierrot" Wednesday

Published December 12, 2011 12:32 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2011, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Salty Cricket Composers Collective (SC3), a relatively new music ensemble that solely performs the works of composers currently living in Utah, will perform its "Plethora of Pierrot" Concert on Wednesday, December 14 at 7:30 p.m in Dumke Recital Hall at the University of Utah.

Tickets are $15. Student tickets are $10. Tickets can be purchased in person at the concert in advance by calling (801) 652-0737 or at www.saltycricket.org. The concert is programed for Pierrot Ensemble, which is an eclectic grouping of instruments pioneered by Arnold Schoeberg in his landmark work, Pierrot Lunaire. The ensemble — consisting of violin, flute, clarinet, cello, and piano — is now standard in the music composition world. Salty Cricket offered Utah composers the option to add voice and percussion to their instrument options.Performers include Alex Martin on violin (of Utah Symphony), Lisa Byrnes on flute (of Utah Symphony), Nick Morandi on clarinet, Walter Haman on cello (of Utah Symphony), Kristofer Michaels on piano, and Bailey Steward on percussion. The evening will be conducted by Stephen Voorhees and Crystal Young-Otterstrom will appear as soprano on two works. The concert will feature (in performance order):John Newman: Caprice AtomiqueRandin Graves: Big BrotherJoey Calkins: Three Emily Dickinson Pieces, Op. 3George Marie: Recursions (Movement I: Upward Spirals)Scott Wasilewski: we had no choice but to destroyChristian Asplund: Extracts from The Fall of the House of UsherJoseph Sowa: Clarinet SonataMichael Hicks: The Empress of JapanNicki Singleton: le sinistre manoirIgor Iachimciuc: It Should Be




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus