This is an archived article that was published on in 2011, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Recording Academy ( announced its Special Merit Awards recipients today, and this year's selections are:

Allman Brothers Band

Glen Campbell

Antonio Carlos Jobim

George Jones

the Memphis Horns

Diana Ross (above)

Gil Scott-Heron

They are all Lifetime Achievement Award recipients, and Dave Bartholomew, Steve Jobs and Rudy Van Gelder will be Trustees Award honorees.

The special invitation-only ceremony will be held during GRAMMY Week on Saturday, Feb. 11, 2012, and a formal acknowledgment will be made during the 54th Annual GRAMMY Awards telecast, which will be held at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Feb. 12, 2012, and broadcast live on CBS. The Lifetime Achievement Award honors performers who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording while the Trustees Award recognizes such contributions in areas other than performance.

comments powered by Disqus