This is an archived article that was published on in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Today the Academy of Country Music announced the winners of awards that will not be televised during the live telecast of the 47th annual Academy of Country Music Awards, to be telecast LIVE from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 1 on CBS.

SPECIAL AWARDS Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award Emmylou Harris, Billy Sherrill, Ricky Skaggs and Dwight Yoakam have been chosen to receive the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award honoring individuals who are pioneers in the country music genre. Crystal Milestone Award Kenny Chesney is honoring Kenny for his achievements. Career Achievement Award Vince Gill has been chosen to receive the Career Achievement Award, which is presented to an individual artist, duo, group or multiple artist collaboration who have advanced the popularity and acceptance of country music through their endeavors in the entertainment industry in multiple areas during the preceding calendar year. Jim Reeves International Award Alan Jackson has been chosen to receive the Jim Reeves International Award, which is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world. Poet's Award Bobby Braddock and Roger Miller have been selected to receive the Poet's Award, which honors songwriters for outstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their careers in the field of country music. Braddock's classic cuts include Tammy Wynette's divine "D-I-V-O-R-C-E" and George Jones' iconic "He Stopped Loving Her Today," as well as the famous couple's enduring duet, "Golden Ring." Braddock also wrote Tracy Lawrence's "Time Marches On," Toby Keith's "I Wanna Talk About Me" and Billy Currington's "People Are Crazy." Miller wrote "King of the Road," "Dang Me" Ray Price's "Invitation to the Blues," and the score of the musical "Big River." SONGWRITER OF THE YEAR – Dallas Davidson CASINO OF THE YEAR – Mandalay Bay Hotel & Casino – Las Vegas, NV DON ROMEO TALENT BUYER OF THE YEAR – Jimmy Jay – Jayson Promotions, Inc. NIGHTCLUB OF THE YEAR – Billy Bob's Texas – Ft. Worth, TX PROMOTER OF THE YEAR – Brian O'Connell – Live Nation VENUE OF THE YEAR – Bridgestone Arena – Nashville, TN PRODUCER OF THE YEAR – Frank Liddell AUDIO ENGINEER OF THE YEAR – Justin Niebank BASS PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Michael Rhodes PERCUSSIONIST/DRUMMER OF THE YEAR – Shannon Forrest GUITARIST OF THE YEAR – Kenny Greenberg FIDDLE PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Stuart Duncan PIANO/KEYBOARD PLAYER OF THE YEAR – John Hobbs SPECIALTY INSTRUMENT(S) PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Aubrey Haynie STEEL GUITAR PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Paul Franklin

comments powered by Disqus