Home » News
Home » News

Commencement • University of Utah

Published May 3, 2012 9:27 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The University of Utah 2012 commencement is Friday at 9 a.m. in the Jon M. Huntsman Center on the Salt Lake City campus.

Annual resident tuition/fees:

Geographic origin of graduates:

Foreign countries:

States other than Utah:

From Utah:

Not specified:

Ethnicity of graduates:

American Indian: 34

Asian/Pacific Islander: 318

African-American: 75

Caucasian: 5,803

Latino/Hispanic: 378

Not Specified/unknown: 1,051

Most popular degrees:

Psychology; economics; exercise & sports science; mass communication; human development and family studies; nursing; accounting; biology; sociology; finance; mechanical engineering.

Commencement speaker:

Ed Catmull, cofounder and president of Pixar Animation Studios

Student speaker: Stephanie Roberson, information systems

Other awards:

Honorary degrees — A. Lorris Betz; H. David Burton; Jerilyn S. McIntyre; Mataru "Wat" Misaka; Beverly Taylor Sorenson.

Distinguished teaching — Bonnie Baty, pediatrics; Evert C. Lawton, civil and environmental engineering

Mark Matheson, English; Gerald E. Root, French.

Calvin S. and Jeneal N. Hatch Prize in Teaching — E. Daniel Edwards, professor of social work.

Distinguished Scholarly and Creative Research Award — Kenneth M. Golden, mathematics; Gary E. Keck, chemistry; H. Y. Sohn, metallurgical engineering.

Distinguished service award — Ronald M. Smelser, history

Distinguished professors ­— David Grainger, pharmacy and pharmaceutical chemistry; Robert Marc, opthalmology; Kathryn Stockton, English.

Public service professor — Trinh Mai, College of Social Work; Yda Jean Smith, College of Health

University professor — Robert Hitchcock, College of Engineering

Honors professor — Michael Gills, writing program.

Distinquished Innovation and Impact Awards — Ellen R. Bromberg, modern dance; Stephen C. Jacobsen, mechanical engineering; Florian Solzbacher, electrical and computer engineering.

Source: University of Utah






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus