Home » News
Home » News

Utah school board races close in some districts

Published November 7, 2012 12:42 am

Education • New members will oversee budgets, implement programs and set vision for growth.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Voters selected new members for Utah school boards across the state Tuesday, including races along the Wasatch Front involving some of the state's largest school districts.

The Salt Lake City School District featured a school board election rematch from eight years ago, with incumbent Alama Uluave running against Michael Clara for a seat. In 2004, Uluave beat Clara by a single vote, earning him a spot representing the city's west-side neighborhoods. But this year, the tables turned, and Clara won the election in District 2, according to unofficial results.

Elsewhere in the Salt Lake City race, incumbent Amanda Thorderson of Rose Park and Fairpark activist Tiffany Sandberg were neck and neck for a seat in District 1 in a race too close to call early Wednesday morning. In newly realigned District 5, board Vice President Heather Bennett won another term against Glendale's Billy Palmer. President Kristi Swett retained her seat from District 7, running unchallenged.

In the Canyons School District, where a race between Chad Iverson and incumbent Paul McCarty was heated, Iverson appeared to have won early Wednesday. Incumbent Mont Millerberg was trailing Robert Green for the Precinct 1 spot. Community activist Nancy Tingey had a significant lead over Clay Pearce, a teacher and administrator, for the open seat in Precinct 3.

In the Granite School District, developer Dan Lofgren won by a considerable margin against Richard Wagner Jones, who is a registered sex offender. Connie Anderson in District 2 and Sarah R. Meier in District 4 also won new terms while running unopposed.

In the Jordan School District, the board's president, incumbent Rick Bojak, was unseated by Kayleen Whitelock in the Precinct 4 race. Richard Osborn from Precinct 5 and Janice Voorhies from Precinct 6 ran unchallenged. In Precinct 1, the previous mayor of Herriman, J. Lynn Crane, appeared to have won against Michael Livsey. —




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus