This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

South Valley city elections

If you're interested in running for a city office, it's almost time to throw your hat in the ring. The candidate filing period for potential mayors and council members is June 1-7. Because city halls are closed on weekends, candidate have just five days — June 3-7 during business hours — to submit a declaration of candidacy in person. If your city operates under a four-day week, confirm the deadline because it could be earlier.

General city elections are non-partisan and held in odd numbered years. The staggered terms are for four years (except when the position is for an unexpired term), with about half the seats up for election each time. Candidates must be a registered voter and a resident of the city for at least 12 months immediately prior to the election to run.

At-large seats are filled by a vote of the entire city's electorate, while district seats holders are selected by voters in the district. If elected from a council district, the candidate must live in that district.

If more than two candidates file for a seat, a primary will be held Aug. 13 to narrow the field to two. The general election is Nov. 5, and winners take office in January.

The seats up for election are:


Mayor • Timothy Derk, running

Two at-large council seats

Draper •

Mayor • Darrell Smith, not running

Two at-large council seats


Mayor • Josh Mills, undecided

District 2 (east) • Council Member (Coralee Wessman-Moser)

District 3 (west) • Council Member (Craig Tischner)

Orem •

Mayor • James Evans, undecided

Three at-large council seats


Mayor • John Curtis, undecided

District 2 (northeast) • Council Member (Rick Healey)

District 5 (central) • Council Member (Sterling Beck)

One at-large council seat

Riverton •

Mayor • Bill Applegarth, running

District 3 (south central) • Council Member (Tracy Thaxton)

District 4 • (northeast) Council Member (Al Leavitt)


Mayor • Tom Dolan, running

District 1 (west) • Council Member (Scott Cowdell)

District 3 (northeast) • Council Member (Kristin Coleman)

At-large council seat

South Jordan

Mayor • Scott Osborne, running

District 3 (west) • Council Member (Brian Butters)

District 5 (central) • Council Member (Larry Short)

West Jordan •

Mayor • Melissa Johnson, not running

Two at-large council seats

comments powered by Disqus