Home » News
Home » News

Time for candidates to declare in Davis city elections

Published May 30, 2013 3:44 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Davis County

If you're interested in running for a city office, it's almost time to throw your hat in the ring. The candidate filing period for potential mayors and council members is June 1-7. Because city halls are closed on weekends, candidate have just five days — June 3-7 during business hours — to submit a declaration of candidacy in person. If your city operates under a four-day week, confirm the deadline because it could be earlier.

General city elections are nonpartisan and held in odd-numbered years. The staggered terms are for four years (except when the position is for an unexpired term), with about half the seats up for election each time. Candidates must be a registered voter and a resident of the city for at least 12 months immediately prior to the election to run.

At-large seats are filled by a vote of the entire city's electorate, while district seats holders are selected by voters in the district. If elected from a council district, the candidate must live in that district.

If more than two candidates file for a seat, a primary will be held Aug. 13 to narrow the field to two. The general election is Nov. 5, and winners take office in January.

The seats up for election are:

City elections


Mayor • Joe Johnson, not running

Two at-large council seats • R. Fred Moss and Tom Tolman


Mayor • Ron Russell, undecided

Two at-large city council seats • Justin Y. Allen and Sherri Lyn Lindstrom


Mayor • Don W. Wood, not running

Two at-large city council seats • Kathryn Murray and Bruce Young


Mayor • Mitch Adams, unconfirmed

Two at-large council seats • Blair Bateman and Joanne Hansen


Mayor • Scott Harbertson, not running

Two at-large city council seats • Jim Talbot and John Bilden

One at-large city council seat • Cindy Roybal (two-year term)

Fruit Heights

Mayor • Todd Stevenson, unconfirmed

Two at-large council seats • Don Carroll and Bette Hubrich


Mayor • Steve Hiatt, running

Two at-large city council seats • Gil Miller and Jared Taylor


Mayor • Steve Curtis, not running

Two at-large council seats • Barry Flitton and Michael Bouwhuis

North Salt Lake

Mayor • Len Arave, running

Two at-large city council seats • Stewart Harman and Matt Jensen

South Weber

Mayor • Jeffery Monroe, running

Two at-large city council seats • Joe Gertje and Farrell D. Poll


Mayor • Chad Bangerter, not running

Two at-large city council seats • Ricky Carlson and Brent Andrews


Mayor • Jamie Nagel, undecided

Two at large city council • Brian Duncan and Larry Shingleton

West Bountiful

Mayor • Ken Romney, unconfirmed

Two at-large city council seats • Mark Preece and Dave Tovey

West Point

Mayor • Erik Craythorne, running

Two at-large city council seats • Andy Dawson and Kent Henderson

Woods Cross

Mayor • Kent Parry, running

Two at-large city council seats • Tamra Dayley and Rick Earnshaw




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus