Home » News
Home » News

Seats up for election in the Salt Lake City area

Published May 29, 2013 12:34 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Salt Lake area elections

If you're interested in running for a city office, it's almost time to throw your hat into the ring. The candidate filing period is June 1-7. Because city halls are closed on weekends, candidate have just five days — June 3-7 during business hours — to submit a declaration of candidacy in person. If your city operates under a four-day week, confirm the deadline because it could be earlier.

General city elections are nonpartisan and held in odd-numbered years. The staggered terms are for four years (except when the position is for an unexpired term), with about half the seats up for election each time. A candidate must be a registered voter and a resident of the city for at least 12 months immediately before the election to run. At-large seats are filled by a vote of the entire city's electorate; district seat holders are selected by voters in the district. If elected from a council district, the candidate must live in that district.

If more than two candidates file for a seat, a primary will be held Aug. 13 to narrow the field to two. The general election is Nov. 5; winners take office in January.

The seats up for election are:

Salt Lake City

Council seats •

District 1 (west) • Carlton Christensen

District 3 (north) • Stan Penfold

District 5 (central) • Jill Remington Love

District 7 (east bench) • Soren Simonsen

South Salt Lake

Mayor • Cherie Wood, running

Council seats •

District 2 (northwest) • Boyd Marshall

District 3 (southwest) • John B. Weaver

At-large district • Casey Fitts




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus