Home » News
Home » News

Utah football: Trevor Reilly, Tom Hackett earn Pac-12 honors

Published December 2, 2013 2:07 pm

College football • Ute duo makes first team; Tenny Palepoi makes second team.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Utes might have been shut out of the bowl season, but they weren't forgotten in the post-season awards. Defender Trevor Reilly and punter Tom Hackett made the 2013 All-Pac-12 Conference first team that was announced Monday while senior defensive lineman Tenny Palepoi made the second team.

The team is selected by a vote of the Pac-12 coaches.

Reilly, who played both defensive end and linebacker, led Utah with 100 tackles, 16 tackles for loss, 8.5 sacks and three fumble recoveries.

He also provided one of the final highlights of Utah's season when he intercepted a pass on Colorado's last possession to preserve Utah's 24-17 win Saturday.

Hackett led the Pac-12 in punt average (43.4), punts inside the 20 (27) and punts of 50-plus yards (19). He also set the record for most punt yards in a season (3,300) while his 76 punts ranked second and his 19 punts of 50-plus yards tied for third.

Palepoi finished with 53 tackles, 9.5 tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks, helping Utah's defense finish first in sacks with 39.

Receiver Dres Anderson, center Vyncent Jones, corner Keith McGill, kicker Andy Phillips and linebacker Jason Whittingham were all honorable mention.

It may have been a mild surprise that Phillips, a former ski team member, didn't earn higher honors after he finished the season 17-of-20 in field goals and 41-of-41 for PATs.

However, he had stiff competition.

Arizona State kicker Zane Gonzalez, a freshman, earned first-team honors after going 22-of-25 on field goal attempts and 59-of-61 on PATs and Cal senior Vincenzo D'Amato earned second-team honors for finishing the season 17-of-20 on field goal attempts and 31-of-32 for PATs.

Arizona running back Ka'Deem Carey was named the Offensive Player of the Year after rushing for 1,716 yards on 322 attempts, and ASU's Will Sutton was named the Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive year.

UCLA's Myles Jack, who played both running back and linebacker, was named the Freshman Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, becoming the first player to win both honors since the awards began in 2008.

ASU coach Todd Graham was named the Coach of the Year after leading the Sun Devils to a 10-2 record and the South division title.






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus