This is an archived article that was published on in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Draper City Police Department will host its second annual awards recognition ceremony at 6 p.m. Thursday at Draper Park Middle School, 13133 S. 1300 East.

Department personnel and community members will receive recognition for their outstanding service and contributions to the department and community.

Awards presented will include Citizen Meritorious Service, Lifesaving Medal, Officer's Shield, Purple Heart, Medal of Valor, Police Officer of the Year 2013, and the Support Employee of the Year 2013.

Additionally, there will be a swearing-in ceremony for John Eining as the department's newly hired deputy chief; Kevin Newman, Mathew Coe and Michael Street as police sergeants; and Trent Hill, Daniel Young, Ben Sullivan, Loni Ives-Stone, Dallin Upchurch, Justin Simons and Kevin Goms as police officers. A special tribute and awards presentation will be made in honor of fallen officer Sgt. Derek Johnson, who was killed in the line of duty last year.

comments powered by Disqus