Home » News
Home » News

Utah Valley's Hunsaker named WAC Coach of the Year

Published March 9, 2014 8:10 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Denver — Utah Valley's Dick Hunsaker has been named the winner of the Western Athletic Conference's Don Haskins Coach of the Year award.

Hunsaker guided the Wolverines to the WAC championship in their first year of membership. Utah Valley went 19-10 overall and 13-3 during the regular season.

The Wolverines are the No. 1 seed headed into the WAC postseason tournament, which opens Thursday in Las Vegas. The winner qualifies for the NCAA tournament.

The WAC also announced its other award-winners Sunday.

Utah Valley seniors Holton Hunsaker and Ben Aird were named to the all-league first team, along with New Mexico State's Daniel Mullings, Grand Canyon's Killian Larson and Idaho's Stephen Madison.

Mullings, a junior guard who averages 17 points, 6.4 rebounds and 3.3 assists, was named Player of the Year.

Utah Valley's Mitch Bruneel was named to the all-defensive team. He was joined by Bakersfield's Aly Ahmed, New Mexico State's Sim Bhullar, Grand Canyon's Jerome Garrison and Mullings.

Utah Valley freshman Zach Nelson was included on the all-newcomer team.

All the awards were determined by a vote of the WAC's head coaches.




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus