Home » News
Home » News

Women's basketball: UConn trounces Notre Dame for record ninth national title

Published April 8, 2014 11:10 pm

Women's national championship • The Huskies trounce Notre Dame for their record ninth title.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Nashville, Tenn. • Geno Auriemma and Connecticut stand alone in women's college basketball, and they reached the top in unprecedented fashion.

The Huskies routed Notre Dame 79-58 in the first championship game featuring undefeated teams, winning their record ninth national title. Auriemma broke a tie with Pat Summitt and Tennessee for most all-time, doing it in her backyard.

Breanna Stewart, who was The Associated Press Player of the Year, scored 21 points to lead the Huskies (40-0) while Stefanie Dolson added 17 points, 16 rebounds and seven assists. Auriemma took out his senior center with a minute left and the game well in hand with the pair embracing in a long hug.

"We beat a great, great team," Auriemma said. "Notre Dame is a great team. For them to have the season they had and lose their starting center and to do what they did, I can't say enough about their players, coaching staff and it took everything we have. I knew if we played great we'd have a chance to win."

The victory also meant that UConn is now the center of the college basketball world with both the men's and women's teams winning the championship in the same year again. The men's team beat Kentucky in the title game Monday night. This pair of victories came a decade after the Huskies became the only school to accomplish the feat.

"I couldn't be prouder of what the men did last night," Auriemma said.

Notre Dame coach Muffet McGraw congratulated the UConn coach when they shook hands after the game.

"I said something like, 'I thought we were playing the Miami Heat for a while, you guys are just that good. What a great season.' You know, things like that," McGraw said. "I thought … LeBron was the only thing they were missing."

While the names change at UConn, from Rebecca Lobo to Diana Taurasi, Maya Moore and now Stewart, Auriemma has been the constant, winning nine titles in only 20 seasons — including the last two. He's never lost in a national championship game.

"Congratulations to the UConn Huskies for winning the 2014 NCAA National Championship!," Summitt said in a statement emailed to The Associated Press. "My compliments also to coach Geno Auriemma for winning his ninth national title. He has accomplished this feat in record time."

It was the fifth unbeaten season for Auriemma and UConn and the first time the Huskies went 40-0 — matching Baylor as the only schools to accomplish that feat. The victory was also Connecticut's 46th straight dating back to last season's NCAA Tournament title run. It's the third longest streak in school history — well short of the NCAA record 90 straight they won between 2008 and 2010.

The loss was Notre Dame's third in the title game in the past four years. Kayla McBride finished off her stellar career with 21 points to lead the Irish, who were looking for their first championship since 2001.

After proving to be no challenge for the Huskies during the first 15 years of the rivalry that began in 1995, Notre Dame had owned the series lately, winning seven of the previous nine meetings. UConn though has won the last two, eliminating Notre Dame in the Final Four last season before topping them in the championship game this year.

There is no love lost between the former Big East rivals, who put on a show in a game that women's basketball hoped could transcend the sport. The coaches added to the drama of the game with their verbal sparring on Monday. But it was Auriemma who got the last word again.

Even with the loss, it was a spectacular season for the Irish. Notre Dame lost Skylar Diggins to graduation and changed conferences to the ACC. Neither mattered as they ran through their opponents, winning by an average of 25.6 points while taking both the conference regular season and tournament championships.

The Irish lost senior Natalie Achonwa to a torn ACL in the regional final win over Baylor. Notre Dame wore warmup shirts with Achonwa's nickname "Ace" below her No. 11. —

UConn 79, Notre Dame 58

O Breanna Stewart scores 21 points to lead the Huskies over the Irish in the first championship game featuring two undefeated teams.

• Coach Geno Auriemma wins his record ninth national title, breaking a tie with ex-Tennessee coach Pat Summitt.

• UConn ties Baylor in 2012 for most wins in a season (40-0). —

UConn 79,Notre Dame 58


Reimer 3-5 0-0 6, Allen 1-5 0-0 2, McBride 8-18 3-4 21, Loyd 4-15 3-4 13, Braker 1-2 0-0 2, Holloway 0-0 0-0 0, Nelson 0-0 0-0 0, Cable 0-3 2-2 2, Mabrey 4-10 0-0 10, Huffman 1-2 0-0 2, Wright 0-2 0-0 0.

Totals 22-62 8-10 58.

UCONN (40-0)

Jefferson 2-8 0-0 4, Hartley 4-15 3-5 13, Mosqueda-Lewis 8-19 0-0 18, Stewart 10-15 1-3 21, Dolson 8-13 1-1 17, Pulido 0-0 0-0 0, Chong 0-0 0-0 0, Banks 1-1 0-0 2, Lawlor 0-0 0-0 0, Stokes 1-2 2-6 4.

Totals 34-73 7-15 79

Halftime—UConn 45-38. 3-Point Goals—Notre Dame 6-19 (Loyd 2-4, Mabrey 2-6, McBride 2-6, Cable 0-1, Allen 0-2), UConn 4-19 (Mosqueda-Lewis 2-7, Hartley 2-9, Jefferson 0-1, Stewart 0-2). Fouled Out—None. Rebounds—Notre Dame 31 (Loyd 6), UConn 54 (Dolson 16). Assists—Notre Dame 15 (Allen 5), UConn 25 (Dolson, Jefferson 7). Total Fouls—Notre Dame 14, UConn 12. A—NA.






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus