This is an archived article that was published on in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Those of us who work at The Salt Lake Tribune constantly remind ourselves that we work for our readers — that the measure of our success is whether we've done a good job of carrying out our watchdog role, informing the debate regardless of topic and adding context to issues important to Utahns.

Nonetheless, it's nice when peers tell us we've done a good job, too, and The Tribune consistently is among the top award winners in local and regional journalism contests.

Tribune staffers won 33 awards — more than any other Utah news organization — in the annual Top of the Rockies Contest, which recognizes the best journalism in Utah, Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming.

Among 11 first-place awards were recognition for for general website excellence and for investigative reporting by Robert Gehrke and Tom Harvey for stories they wrote about alleged wrongdoing by former Utah Attorney General John Swallow.

The best part about the recognition The Tribune earned in the Top of the Rockies Contest is that it cuts across our entire newsroom, honoring reporters, columnists, editorial writers photographers, online producers, page designers and headline writers.

Here's a link to a list of all contest winners.

Tribune winners include:

General Website Wxcellence, first place, Salt Lake Tribune staff

Politics: General Reporting, first place, Thomas Burr, Nate Carlisle, Tony Semerad

Politics: Enterprise Reporting, first place, Lee Davidson

Politics: Enterprise Reporting, third place, Thomas Burr Matt Canahm

Column Personal/Humor, first place, Ann Cannon

Column Personal/Humor, second place, Robert Kirby

Sports News Photography, second place, Steve Griffin

News Photography, second place, Leah Hogsten

Feature Photography, third place, Scott Sommerdorf

Feature Page Design, first place, Francisco Kjolseth

Feature Page Design, second place, Rudy Mesicek

Front Page Design, third place, Steve Mohlman

Business: General Reporting, second place, Paul Beebe

Editorials, first place, Tim Fitzpatrick

Breaking News Story, first place, Brooke Adams, Matt Piper, Erin Alberty, Matt Canham, Peggy Fletcher Stack

Single Page Design, first place, Jenna Busey

Single Page Design, third place, Jenna Busey

Special Section, second place, Navigating the Affordable Care Act, Salt Lake Tribune staff

Investigative/Enterprise Reporting, first place, Robert Gehrke, Tom Harvey

A&E Single Story, second place, Christopher Smart

A&E Single Story, third place, Ellen Fagg Weist

Education: General Reporting, first place, Lisa Schenker

Legal: Enterprise Reporting, first place, Brooke Adams

Sports Photography, third place, Trent Nelson

Sports: Enterprise Reporting, second place, Aaron Falk, Christopher Kamrani, Tony Semerad

Sports: Enterprise Reporting, third place, Aaron Falk

Business: Enterprise Reporting, third place, Tom Harvey

Science: General Reporting, first place, Brian Maffly

Headline Writing, second place, Steve Mohlman

Health: Enterprise Reporting, second place, Erin Alberty

Health: Enterprise Reporting, third place, Kirsten Stewart

General Reporting: Series or Package, second place, Brett Prettyman

News Feature, second place, Peggy Fletcher Stack

comments powered by Disqus