Home » News
Home » News

Fastpitch tourney kicks off with Hall induction

Published July 12, 2014 2:34 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Utah Softball Hall of Fame added eight new members Friday to start this weekend's Larry H. Miller Fastpitch Softball Tournament.

A revival of the Pioneer Days tournament that used to draw packed crowds to the Cottonwood Complex — now named after Miller — this weekend's tourney features four Utah teams competing with clubs from California, Colorado and Canada.

Round robin play began at 6 p.m. Friday and will continue Saturday, with playoff games at 9 a.m. and 11 a.m. Sunday before the championship game at 1 p.m.

Inducted into the Softball Hall of Fame were coach and high school athletics association administrator Becky Anderson; men's fastpitch player Owen Christensen and his sister, women's slowpitch player Florence Holtshouser; men's slowpitch players Steve Clegg, Brad Edginton and John Giesler; coach Wayne Griffin; and Deseret News sportswriter Amy Donaldson.




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus