D.C. Mormons:The Players

This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2005, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.



(5 Members):

Orrin Hatch (R-Utah; Elected 1976) - former chairman of Judiciary Committee

Harry Reid (D-Nevada; Elected 1986) - Democratic Leader (2005); Holds the most senior position ever held by a Mormon in Congress

Bob Bennett (R-Utah; Elected 1992) - Chief Deputy Majority Whip

Gordon Smith (R-Oregon; Elected 1996) - Deputy Majority Whip

Mike Crapo (R-Idaho; Elected 1998)


(11 Members):

Wally Herger (R-California) - 10th term

Eni F. H. Faleomavaega (D-American Samoa) - 9th term (Territorial Delegate without full House voting rights)

John Doolittle (R-California) - 8th term; Secretary of the House Republican Conference - sixth highest ranking position in House Republican leadership

Ernest Istook (R-Oklahoma) - 7th term

Buck McKeon (R-California) - 7th term

Chris Cannon (R-Utah) - 5th term

Mike Simpson (R-Idaho) - 4th term

Tom Udall (D-New Mexico) - 4th term (Son of former Congressman and former Interior Secretary Stewart Udall of Arizona)

Jeff Flake (R-Arizona) - 3rd term

Jim Matheson (D-Utah) - 3rd term

Rob Bishop (R-Utah) - 2nd term


Michael E. O'Neill - Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee (2005 ); member U.S. Sentencing Commission (1999-2005)

Bob King - Democratic Staff Director, House International Relations Committee

Kay King - Senior Policy Adviser, Democratic Staff, House International Relations Committee

Royal Shipp - Deputy Associate Director for Research Coordination, Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress; bishop of a Spanish-speaking ward

Executive branch

Mike Leavitt - Secretary, Health and Human Services

Kathleen Clarke - Director of the Bureau of Land Management, Interior

Randal K. Quarles - Assistant Secretary for International Affairs, Treasury

David Tenny - Deputy Undersecretary for Natural Resources and Environment, Agriculture

Rodney J. Brown - Deputy Undersecretary for Research, Education and Economics, Agriculture

Jeffrey R. Holmstead - Assistant Administrator for Air & Radiation, Environmental Protection Agency; stake president in Maryland

Jody Olsen - Deputy Director of the Peace Corps (daughter of former Rep. David S. King)

Sheldon Bradshaw - Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Civil Rights division, Justice

D. Kyle Sampson - Deputy Chief of Staff to the Attorney General, Justice (2003-present), and formerly Associate Counsel to the President (2001-03)

Russell Munk - Assistant General Counsel (International Affairs), Treasury

Robert D. Walpole - National Intelligence Officer for Strategic and Nuclear Programs, CIA

Taylor Oldroyd - Special Assistant to the Chief of Natural Resources Conservation Service, Agriculture

Stephen Fletcher - Deputy Chief Information Officer and Chief Technology Officer, Education (son of James C. Fletcher, twice head of NASA and president of University of Utah)


L. Ralph Mecham - Director, Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts; former stake president in Washington D.C.

Retired senior

government officials:

Paul A. Yost Jr. - Former Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard; currently President, James Madison Foundation

William Heaton - Former Chief of Research, Production and Analysis Group, CIA

Darwin A. John - Former Chief Information Officer, FBI (resigned fall, 2004)

David Gribbin - Former Assistant Secretary of Defense during the first Bush administration, helped on the Bush/Cheney transition team in the confirmation of cabinet secretaries, lobbyist for Halliburton Co., an oil field-services company

Trade association


Jack Gerard - President and CEO, National Mining Association; president of McLean, Va., stake

Dick Hanneman - Executive Director, Salt Institute

Wayne Abernathy - Executive Director for Financial Institutions Policy and Regulatory Affairs, American Bankers Association (formerly Assistant Secretary for Financial Institutions, Treasury)

Cynthia Hilton - Executive Vice President for Government Affairs, Institute of Makers of Explosives

Prominent lobbyists:

Bill Nixon - Partner, Policy Impact Strategic Communications, which does public relations, media and crisis management; clients include Corporation for Public Broadcasting, as well as political issue campaigns such as opposition to medical malpractice insurance and support for presidential judicial nominees

Laird Walker - Principal in Walker, Martin and Hatch, clients include Bayer Healthcare, Glaxosmithkline, the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America, and the National Nutritional Foods Association; bishop of singles ward

Scott Hatch - Principal in Walker, Martin and Hatch. Son of Sen. Orrin Hatch

James C. Barker - Clients include Utah Transit Authority, Park City, Fannie Mae and Southern California Water Districts

Marcus Faust - Independent land and water lobbyist; clients include Brigham Young University and University of Nevada, Reno, medical school. Son of President James E. Faust, second counselor in the LDS Church's First Presidency

Lew Cramer - Summit Ventures, clients include City of Orem, Utopia, and the Thai Frozen Food Association

Charles Cannon - Cannon Consultants, Inc., clients include a number of educational and research institutions, including Utah Valley State College

David B. Lee - Lee and Smith, P.C.; lobbyist for Utah State University and other clients

Angela Bay Buchanan - President, American Cause (conservative educational foundation founded by her brother Pat Buchanan); conservative political activist

Bill Simmons - Dutco Group, one of largest D.C. shops with dozens of clients such as Western Governors University, Clear Play and Sandy City

James D. Santini - Has own lobbying group, which works on behalf of air tour operators in national parks

Washington area business leaders:

J. Willard Marriott, Jr. - Chairman and CEO of Marriott International; former stake president, currently Area Authority Seventy

Richard Marriott - Chairman of Host Marriott Corp. and First Media Corp.

Sid V. Foulger - Founder/principal of Foulger-Pratt Construction Co., built LDS temple in D.C. as well as the Crossroads Mall in Salt Lake City; former bishop

Nolan Archibald - Chairman, President and CEO of Black and Decker, also president of the Washington, D.C. LDS Stake

Omar Kader - Founder and Chairman of Pal-Tech Inc., a management consulting firm focusing on training, technical assistance, and management; contracts with the Department of Health and Human Services, Labor, State's Foreign Service Institute and the Agency for International Development

Other prominent

Washington leaders:

Kent Colton - Principal of K. Colton, LLC, which consults on housing industry issues; former executive vice president and CEO of the National Association of Homebuilders and former vice president of Policy, Planning and Economic Research for Freddie Mac. Just released as McLean, Va., stake president

Bill Hansen - Senior vice president and managing director, Affiliated Computer Services Inc., an education services business; formerly senior official in Education (Son of George Hansen, former LDS congressman from Idaho)

Tim Flannigan - General Counsel, Corporate and International Law of Tyco International; and former Deputy Counsel and Deputy Assistant to the President (2001-2002)

LDS Church representatives and leaders of the

Washington, D.C., Public Affairs Committee:

Elder Ralph Hardy - Area Authority Seventy and head of the Washington LDS Public Affairs Committee; attorney with the Washington law firm Dow, Lohnis and Albertson, PLLC

Ann Santini - director of International Affairs, wife of former Nevada congressman and unsuccessful U.S. Senate candidate James Santini

Lamar Sleight - recently retired director of government affairs for the LDS Church in Washington, D.C.; former Oakston, Va., stake president