Van de Kamp, Green win at St. George Marathon

This is an archived article that was published on in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

St. George — Fritz Van de Kamp of Salt Lake City was the overall winner and hometown product Amber Green won the women's division Saturday during the 36th annual St. George Marathon. Van de Kamp pulled away over the final five miles and finished with an unofficial time of 2:21.15. He has also won the Salt Lake, Ogden and Deseret News Marathons this year. Green won the St. George Marathon for the first time in her ninth attempt. Her unofficial time was a personal best 2:43.01 Last year, she suffered a stress fracture and did not finish. Meanwhile, in the hand-cycle division, Jay B. Conway of Butte, Mont., won for the second straight year. He shattered the course record by finishing in 56 minutes, 57 seconds.