BYU's Mendenhall elected to AFCA's Board of Trustees

This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Couple of football notes to pass along today as we wait for BYU's first basketball media availability of the week, which is this afternoon around 4:30 p.m. when coach Dave Rose's team wraps up practice at the Marriott Center. BYU football coach Bronco Mendenhall has been elected to the Board of Trustees of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA). He was elected by members attending the 2013 AFCA Convention this week in Nashville, Tenn. Texas coach Mack Brown is the AFCA's incoming president; Mike Welch of Ithace College is the first vice president, and Tommy Tuberville (Cincinnati) is the second vice president. Mendenhall will be the District 8 representative for the AFCA. "I consider it a privilege being appointed to the AFCA Board of Trustees," Mendenhall said. "Coaching football is one of the greatest professions in the world, and to be a part of an organization that continues to grow and educate coaches on the important role they have as positive and influential role models on our student-athletes is an assignment I am excited to be a part of." On Monday, BYU linebacker Kyle Van Noy, who announced last week that he is returning to Provo for his senior season, earned the 2012 CFPA Linebacker Trophy, given annually by the College Football Performance Awards group. BYU's Dennis Pitta won the CFPA's award for tight ends in 2009. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams, according to the CFPA.