NCAA wrestling: Cornell's Dake wins Hodge Trophy

This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Newton, Iowa • Cornell senior Kyle Dake has been awarded the Hodge Trophy as the nation's top wrestler.

Dake became just the third wrestler to win four NCAA titles at the national meet in Des Moines, Iowa last weekend when he took the 165-pound title.

Dake also is the only wrestler to win four titles at four different weight classes.

Dake received 41 of 43 first-place votes from the voting committee for the Hodge Trophy, which is generally considered the equivalent of the Heisman Trophy award for collegiate wrestling.

The committee is made up of former Hodge Trophy winners, media and retired college coaches.

Penn State's Ed Ruth got two first-place votes and finished second behind Dake.

The Hodge Trophy is presented by Iowa-based wrestling publication W.I.N magazine.