Football: Arizona Rattlers beat Philadelphia Soul 48-39 in ArenaBowl

Arena football • Rattlers beat Philadelphia, 48-39.
This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Orlando, Fla. • After winning their second straight ArenaBowl title in their third consecutive championship game, Arizona quarterback Nick Davilla and coach Kevin Guy shied away from dynasty talk.

"I don't want to throw that word around now," Davilla said after throwing six touchdown passes in the Rattlers' 48-39 victory over the Philadelphia Soul on Saturday. "I just want to enjoy this one. We'll focus on winning another next year."

Guy looked back to the Rattlers' last-play loss to Jacksonville in 2010.

"I'm going to think more about the one that got away than the two we've won," Guy said. "I'll let the fans and the media talk about dynasties."

Arizona beat Philadelphia for the second straight year to become the first team since Tampa Bay in 1996 to successfully defend an Arena Football League title. The Rattlers also won in 1994 and 1997.

Davilla completed 20 of 29 passes for 315 yards. Rod Windsor had 10 catches for 145 yards and two touchdowns, and Maurice Purify caught four passes for 83 yards and two scores. Garrett Lindholm was 6 for 6 on extra points and made both field-goal attempts.

Philadelphia, which trailed 45-33 with 9:30 remaining, had a chance to win the game in the final minute.

Arizona was driving in for a clinching touchdown, but Soul lineman Ko Quaye forced Rod Windsoe's fumble that the Soul recovered at their own 1 with 53 seconds left.

However, Philadelphia couldn't get a first down as Rattlers defender Arkeith Brown, who had never played defense in a postseason game before Saturday, swatted away Dan Raudabaugh's pass intended for Tiger Jones on fourth down.

"Fifty-three seconds left in arena football, you're supposed to score," Jones said. "It's on us. It's on me."