This is an archived article that was published on in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The backstage Broadway comedy-drama "Birdman" has been named the best picture of 2014 by the Utah Film Critics Association.

Members of the UFCA on Wednesday night also gave "Birdman" awards for director Alejandro G. Iñárritu, lead actor Michael Keaton, and the original screenplay.

Best Actress went to Rosamund Pike, playing the supposedly missing spouse in "Gone Girl." Supporting awards went to J.K. Simmons as an abusive band leader in "Whiplash" and Jessica Chastain as a manipulative wife in "A Most Violent Year."

Thirteen critics from Utah media outlets voted for the awards, which were dedicated this year to their colleague Jeff Michael Vice, the former Deseret News and "Geek Show Podcast" critic, who died this May at the age of 49.

Here is the full list of winners:

Picture: "Birdman." Runner-up: "The Imitation Game."

Director: Alejandro G. Iñarritu, "Birdman." Runner-up: Jonathan Glazer, "Under the Skin."

Actor: Michael Keaton, "Birdman." Runners-up: (tie) Benedict Cumberbatch, "The Imitation Game," and Ralph Fiennes, "The Grand Budapest Hotel."

Actress: Rosamund Pike, "Gone Girl." Runner-up: Marion Cotillard, "Two Days, One Night."

Supporting Actor: J.K. Simmons, "Whiplash." Runner-up: Edward Norton, "Birdman."

Supporting Actress: Jessica Chastain, "A Most Violent Year." Runner-up: Tilda Swinton, "Snowpiercer."

Original Screenplay: "Birdman," screenplay by Alejandro G. Iñarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo. Runner-up: "Nightcrawler," screenplay by Dan Gilroy.

Adapted Screenplay: (tie) "Inherent Vice," screenplay by Paul Thomas Anderson; and "Snowpiercer," screenplay by Bong Joon-ho and Kelly Masterson, screen story by Bong Joon-ho.

Cinematography: Robert Elswit, "Nightcrawler." Runner-up: Daniel Landin, "Under the Skin."

Documentary Feature: "Citizenfour." Runner-up: "The Overnighters."

Non-English Feature: "We Are the Best!" (Sweden/Denmark). Runner-up: "Two Days, One Night" (Belgium/France/Italy).

Animated Feature: "The LEGO Movie." Runner-up: "The Boxtrolls."