This is an archived article that was published on in 2015, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Chairman David Crandall and vice-chairs David Thomas and Jennifer Johnson will continue to lead the Utah State Board of Education following a vote during the board's December meeting.

Candall and Thomas were first elected to the school board in 2008 and have served in board leadership since January 2014.

Johnson was elected to the board in 2012 and joined the leadership team last year when the position of second vice-chair was created.

The leadership team was selected after a single round of voting by secret ballot.

In a prepared statement, Crandall said he was grateful for the support of his fellow school board members and looking forward to the coming year.

"As a board," he said, "we are encouraged by new revenues in the Education Fund and eagerly anticipate working with the Legislature and governor in putting that money to its best use for the benefit of students."

Also nominated for the position of chairman was Joel Wright, who joined the board in January. And first-year board members Laura Belnap and Linda Hansen sought the positions of vice-chairs.

School board members are elected to four-year terms, with leadership teams elected by the board each year.