This is an archived article that was published on in 2016, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

James Rogers was elected Salt Lake City Council chairman Tuesday by a unanimous vote of his colleagues.

During the past 12 months Rogers, who represents District 1, has been vice chairman; Luke Garrott, who left office Monday, was chairman. As chairman, Rogers will set the council's agenda and run its meetings.

"This year is basically about steadying the ship, that we're all working together," he said. "I want to make sure that everybody [on the council] has their signature on everything that goes through."

Rogers comes from a business background and is fiscally conservative. He fought hard to keep the Rose Park Golf Course open. He also voted to close Glendale Golf Course.

The council also voted unanimously to install Councilman Stan Penfold as vice chairman. Over the past 12 months, Penfold, who represents District 3, has served as the chairman of the board of Salt Lake City's Redevelopment Agency.

Both men were big supporters of former Mayor Ralph Becker, who was defeated by Jackie Biskupski in a hard-fought campaign.

A new mayor is not the only thing changing at City Hall. Two of the council's most dynamic members — Garrott and District 2 Councilman Kyle LaMalfa — are no longer on the council. Garrott ran an unsuccessful campaign for mayor. LaMalfa did not seek re-election.

Among other things, LaMalfa led the fight to require Salt Lake City police to process rape kits for every woman who reported sexual assault to police. He succeeded, despite an unwilling administration.

Garrott was at the forefront of a movement to reduce campaign contributions in Salt Lake City elections. Those contribution limits were rolled back recently.

The new council members from Districts 2 and 4 are Andrew Johnston and Derek Kitchen, respectively.

Councilman Charlie Luke, who began his second term Tuesday, served as chairman in 2014.

Like Rogers and Penfold, council members Erin Mendenhall, District 5, and Lisa Adams, District 7, were not up for election in 2015.