This is an archived article that was published on in 2016, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Utah's top elected Democrats endorsed Hillary Clinton on Friday. And the former first daughter Chelsea Clinton is expected to attend campaign events in Utah on Tuesday.

The presidential campaigns are beginning to pay attention to Utah's caucus vote, which takes place March 22.

Salt Lake City Mayor Jackie Biskupski and Salt Lake County Mayor Ben McAdams were joined by eight state lawmakers, and a host of locally elected officials, activists and prominent donors in expressing their support for Clinton, who also ran in 2008.

"She's the only one in the race with a proven track record of delivering real results," Biskupski said in a statement, "and she's exactly the kind of leader we need in the White House."

Others endorsing Clinton were former Utah first lady Norma Matheson, former Salt Lake City Mayor Ted Wilson and former state Sen. Ross Romero.

Chelsea Clinton, 36, has been a key surrogate for her mother. She spent Friday traveling through Florida, saying that her mother would "protect our values" against Republican positions she considered extreme.

"This is the most important presidential election in my lifetime," said Chelsea Clinton, according to the Tallahassee Democrat. "I worry that everything I care about most is at risk at this moment in time."

She named health care, access to abortion, campaign-finance reform and gun control among those issues.

Hillary Clinton and Sen. Bernie Sanders will vie for Utah's 37 Democratic delegates during caucus meetings held on the evening of March 22. Voters wanting to participate can find their caucus location by going to

Clinton also has the support of two of Utah's four superdelegates, party leaders who can weigh in independent of a state's voting. Utah Democratic Party Vice Chairwoman Breanne Miller and state Rep. Patrice Arent, D-Millcreek, back Clinton, while Utah Democratic Party Chairman Peter Corroon and national committeeman Wayne Holland remain undecided.