This is an archived article that was published on in 2006, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

After leading Brigham Young to an undefeated conference season, quarterback John Beck was the unanimous selection as the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year.

Beck joins running back Luke Staley (2001) as the second BYU player to win the Mountain West's top offensive award. Beck, who won the weekly offensive award a conference-record seven times this season, ranks fourth nationally in passing with an average of 319.1 yards per game.

"It's an honor to receive this award," he said. "I accept it on behalf of my teammates who have all worked so hard this season. Everyone played a huge part in our success."

In his second season, BYU's Bronco Mendenhall was named coach of the year. The Cougars completed the regular season 10-2 and are ranked No. 20.

Mendenhall deflected praise to his players, such as linebacker Cameron Jensen, who also was a unanimous first-team selection in the poll that was released Tuesday. Jensen and Beck are BYU's captains.

"This honor is reflective of the leadership of this team," Mendenhall said. "From our team captains to the team's leadership council, as well as each of our assistant coaches, this is an award that is reflective of their combined efforts. I give them credit for our success this season."

For the second consecutive year, Utah defensive back Eric Weddle was named the top defensive player. Utah place-kicker/punter Louie Sakoda shared the inaugural special teams player award with New Mexico kicker Kenny Byrd.

Weddle is the second player in league history to win back-to-back MWC Defensive Player of the Year honors, joining San Diego State linebacker Kirk Morrison (2003-04).

Sakoda was a three-time special teams Player of the Week winner this season. He ranks 13th in the nation in punting, averaging 43.9 yards.

Other Cougars on the first team are running back Curtis Brown, offensive lineman Jake Kuresa and tight end Jonny Harline. Utah offensive lineman Tavo Tupola and defensive lineman Kelly Talavou also made the first team.

All-MWC team


Player of the Year: John Beck, QB, BYU

First Team

John Beck, QB, BYU

Travis Brown, WR, New Mexico

Ryan Wolfe, WR, UNLV

Curtis Brown, RB, BYU

Rodney Ferguson, RB, New Mexico

Jonny Harline, TE, BYU

Jake Kuresa, OL, BYU

Robert Turner, OL, New Mexico

Herb Taylor, OL, TCU

Tavo Tupola, OL, Utah

Chase Johnson, OL, Wyoming


Player of the Year: Eric Weddle, DB, Utah

First Team

Tommy Blake, DL, TCU

Chase Ortiz, DL, TCU

Kelly Talavou, DL, Utah

Antwan Applewhite, DL, San Diego State

Drew Fowler, LB, Air Force

Cameron Jensen, LB, BYU

Jason Phillips, LB, TCU

Quincy Black, DB, New Mexico

Marvin White, DB, TCU

Eric Weddle, DB, Utah

John Wendling, DB, Wyoming


Co-Players of the Year: Louie Sakoda, PK/P, Utah, Kenny Byrd, PK, New Mexico

First Team

Kenny Byrd, PK, New Mexico

Kip Facer, P, UNLV

Brian Bonner, PR/KR, TCU

Freshman of the Year: Ryan Wolfe, WR, UNLV

Coach of the Year: Bronco Mendenhall, BYU