This is an archived article that was published on in 2017, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Jaxon Brenchley led his team to a state championship in its inaugural year.

The Ridgeline senior has been rewarded for his efforts when he was named the Gatorade Utah Boys' Basketball Player of the Year.

Brenchley, who plans to play at the University of Utah, averaged 19.7 points, 7.5 rebounds, 5.7 assists and 2.8 steals per game for the 21-4 Riverhawks.

"Brenchley really commands and controls the game on both ends of the floor," Juan Diego coach Drew Trost said in a release. "He's devastating in transition and off the dribble, and he's also an excellent passer and rebounder."

Past winners

2016 • Frank Jackson, Lone Peak

2015 • Zac Seljaas, Bountiful

2014 • T.J. Haws, Lone Peak

2013 • Nick Emery, Lone Peak

2012 • Jordan Loveridge, West Jordan

2011 • Nick Emery, Lone Peak

2010 • Kyle Collinsworth, Provo

2009 • Tyler Haws, Lone Peak

2008 • Tyler Haws, Lone Peak

2007 • Chris Collinsworth, Provo

— Kevin Winters Morriss