This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2011, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.
The Senate passed unanimously a bill Monday that would require non-Utahns to obtain a concealed weapon permit from their home state before being issued a Utah permit.
The bill, SB36 authored by Sen. John Valentine, R-Orem, aims at working with 33 other states that have reciprocity agreements with Utah allowing states to maintain more control over their concealed weapons permit records.
Valentine also said the bill wouldn't change the rules for states that don't recognize Utah's concealed weapon permit. For example, he said California doesn't recognize Utah's permit and it wouldn't be valid there.
Senate President Michael Waddoups, R-Taylorsville, pointed out during the floor session that Valentine's bill had a fiscal note attached estimating it would result in a loss of $1.3 million in revenue. But Valentine said that it was dedicated monies and the number is a result of those permits that wouldn't be issued due to the requirement of having people register in their home state first.
The bill would tack on an additional $5 to the registration fee for nonresidents seeking the Utah permit as well.
A penalty for a nonresidents holding a Utah permit without obtaining a permit from their resident state would be a 10-year ban on being able to get a permit issued by Utah.
With its 27-0 passage, it now moves to the House for consideration.