This is an archived article that was published on in 2011, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Another one of the major college basketball player of the year awards has gone to BYU's Jimmer Fredette.

Friday morning, the Associated Press named Fredette its player of the year after the senior guard led the nation in scoring (28.5 ppg.) and the Cougars to one of their best seasons in school history.

Fredette won the Oscar Robertston Trophy earlier this week, bestowed by the United States Basketball Writers Association. The two other "majors" — the Naismith Award and the Wooden Award — have yet to be announced.

Fredette drew 48 votes from the 65-member national media panel that selects the AP's weekly Top 25. Voting was completed before the NCAA Tournament began.

Fredette, from Glens Falls, N.Y., is the first BYU player to win the award and the first from the Mountain West Conference since Utah's Andrew Bogut won it in 2005.

Kemba Walker of Connecticut was second with 11 votes, while Duke's Nolan Smith was third (five votes) and Ohio State's Jared Sullinger was fourth (one vote).

Thursday night, Fredette received the Adolph Rupp Award as the top player in college basketball from the Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky.

Twitter: @drewjay