This is an archived article that was published on in 2011, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Women in Tech Council announced the seven winners Thursday of its annual awards honoring excellence in the local technology sector.

The fourth annual Women Tech Awards honor "technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies and are key contributors to the community." The awards were given out Thursday at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City. The winners are:

Technology Innovator • Sarah B. Hiza of ATK Aerospace Systems.

Technology Entrepreneur • Ruey-Jen Jennifer Hwu of InnoSys.

Technology Excellence • Patricia R. Hall of Goldman Sachs & Co.

Rising Star • Kate Maloney of Costume Craze.

Academic Excellence • Courtney Doyle of the University of Utah.

Technology Trailblazer • Shawn Adamson of XO Communication.

Leadership Excellence • Susan Johnson of Futura Industries.

"This award program lets us showcase women who are impacting the economy," Cydni Tetro, WTC director, said in a news release. "These women are innovating new products and ideas, creating jobs, contributing to the community and making a difference in the lives of the people around them."

The Women Tech Council, which was founded in 2007, represents women in the technology market as well as those who work with technology.

Google+: +Vincent Horiuchi