This is an archived article that was published on in 2017, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Utah's favorite modern pop/rock band is coming home.

Imagine Dragons, which got its start in Utah County, announced on Tuesday a new album, "Evolve," and a tour to accompany it. They will be playing Usana Amphitheatre in West Valley City on Friday, Oct. 13.

Tickets to the general public will go on sale Friday, May 19 via Smith's Tix, but there will be options to purchase them earlier.

For starters, anyone who pre-orders the album via between today and 8 a.m. PT this Saturday will be sent registration instructions and receive priority access in the Ticketmaster Verified Fan pre-sale, which begins on Monday, May 15  at 10 a.m.

Fans also can register for early access to tickets at, which will reserve a spot in line for the fan presale. Fans can subsequently improve their position by sharing their pre-sale link, and by pre-ordering the new album Evolve. Fans who have registered will be let into the ticket presale in waves, based on their place in line.

Though often cited as a Las Vegas band, Imagine Dragons actually got their start in Utah. Three of the band's early members — singer Dan Reynolds, drummer Andrew Tolman and keyboard player Brittany Robinson — were students at Brigham Young University when they first started playing together in 2008. Tolman recruited fellow American Fork native Wayne Sermon to be the group's guitarist.

They won a Battle of the Bands competition at BYU that year, and followed suit by winning a band contest at the Provo club Velour, and also the "Utah Valley University's Got Talent" event.

The lineup changed, with Reynolds and Sermon eventually joining forces with bassist Ben McKee and drummer Dan Platzman, and the group subsequently settled in Reynolds' hometown of Las Vegas.

In the meantime, they've issued a slew massive hits. Their debut album, "Night Visions," included "Radioactive," "Demons," "It's Time," and "On Top of the World." Sophomore effort "Smoke + Mirrors" featured "I Bet My Life." Their contribution to last year's "Suicide Squad" soundtrack, "Sucker for Pain," also proved a hit. The first three singles from "Evolve" — which will be released June 23 — are "Believer," "Thunder" and "Whatever It Takes."

The tour begins Sept. 26 in Phoenix and is scheduled to wrap Nov. 16 in Anaheim, Calif.

Grouplove and K.Flay will open.

Twitter: @esotericwalden