This is an archived article that was published on in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The NBA on Wednesday announced the members of the league's new competition committee, including Utah Jazz general manager Kevin O'Connor.

The announcement follows a decision by the league's board of governors last month to change the committee's composition. The committee will now include two owners, four general managers, three head coaches and one representative from the NBA Players Association.

Joining O'Connor are fellow GMs Bryan Colangelo (Toronto Raptors), Mitch Kupchak (L.A. Lakers) and Sam Presti (Oklahoma City); owners Dan Gilbert (Cleveland Cavaliers) and Joe Lacob (Golden State); and coaches Rick Carlisle (Dallas Mavericks), Lionel Hollins (Memphis Grizzlies), and Doc Rivers (Boston Celtics).

The NBPA will designate one of its members to serve on the Committee.

The Competition Committee votes in favor of changing a playing rule or any other competition-related matter, the recommendation will be brought to the Board of Governors for its consideration and vote. The Committee will meet on a regular basis and its first meeting will take place during the Finals.