This is an archived article that was published on in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Senate Democrats elected Gene Davis to serve as the Senate minority leader for the upcoming Legislature.

Davis, D-Salt Lake City, will lead a team of five senators, the smallest group for the minority party since the 1980s.

Sen. Karen Mayne of West Valley City will serve as Senate minority whip. Sen. Pat Jones of Holladay was chosen as assistant whip and Sen. Luz Robles of Salt Lake City is caucus manager.

Davis has been in the Legislature for nearly 26 years, serving in the Utah House from 1987 to 1998. He won election to the Senate in 1998 and has served in the body since 1999.

He will replace Senate Minority Leader Ross Romero, D-Salt Lake City, who ran for Salt Lake County mayor, but did not win the party's nomination.

Robert Gehrke