This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Former BYU linebacker Kurt Gouveia will be among seven inaugural inductees to the new Polynesian Football Hall of Fame.

Gouveia, a member of BYU's 1984 national championship team, is one of seven inductees chosen from a list of 25 finalists and will be enshrined at ceremonies Jan. 23, 2014 before the NFL Pro Bowl at the Hawaii Convention Center in Honolulu.

The inaugural class also includes players Olin Kreutz, Kevin Mawae, Junior Seau, Jack Thompson, Herman John Wedemeyer and coach Ken Niumatalolo.

Gouveia, of Hawaiian ancestry, played 13 seasons of professional football for the Washington Redskins, Philadelphia Eagles and San Diego Chargers and was a member of two Super Bowl champions (1987, 1991).

Former BYU coach LaVell Edwards and former Utah and Weber State coach Ron McBride are members of the selection committee, which also includes Dick Tomey, Neil Everett, Gil Brandt and Robert Kekaula. Former BYU and Philadelphia Eagles star Vai Sikahema will serve as Master of Cermonies at the induction ceremony. —