This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

"Gravity," Alfonso Cuarón's outer-space survival drama, is the year's best movie in the collective opinion of the Utah Film Critics Association.

In voting on Thursday night, "Gravity" also received the top honors for Cuarón's direction and Emmanuel Lubezki's cinematography. "Gravity's" star, Sandra Bullock, was a runner-up for best actress, in a tie with Cate Blanchett for Woody Allen's comedy "Blue Jasmine."

Winning the award for best actress was Adèle Exarchopoulos, who played the teen-turned-adult in the French drama "Blue is the Warmest Color." "Blue," which won the Palme D'Or at this year's Cannes Film Festival and is noted for its explicit sexuality, also was named the best non-English language movie by the Utah critics.

British actor Chiwetel Ejiofor was named best actor for his portrayal of a free black man enslaved in the drama "12 Years a Slave." The runner-up was Oscar Isaac, for playing a luckless folk singer in the Coen brothers' "Inside Llewyn Davis" — a movie that was also a runner-up for Bruno Delbonnel's cinematography.

"12 Years a Slave" was runner-up for best picture, best director (Steve McQueen), best supporting actor (Michael Fassbender), and best adapted screenplay (John Ridley).

Beating out Fassbender for supporting actor was Bill Nighy for his role as a laconic but caring dad in the time-travel romance "About Time."

Supporting-actress honors went to Scarlett Johansson, for her voice-only performance in Spike Jonze' futuristic romance "her." The runner-up was Jennifer Lawrence, for her portrayal of the manic-depressive wife of a con man in "American Hustle."

"Before Midnight," the third installment in Richard Linklater's romantic trilogy starring Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy, was honored for its adapted screenplay, written by Linklater, Delpy and Hawke. Original screenplay honors went to "The World's End," Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright's alien-invasion comedy. Runner-up in the original screenplay category was Nat Faxon and Jim Rash's coming-of-age comedy "The Way, Way Back."

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture • "Gravity"; runner-up: "12 Years A Slave."

Best Achievement in Directing • Alfonso Cuarón, "Gravity"; runner-up: Steve McQueen, "12 Years a Slave."

Best Lead Performance by an Actor • Chiwetel Ejiofor, "12 Years a Slave"; runner-up: Oscar Isaac, "Inside Llewyn Davis."

Best Lead Performance by an Actress • Adèle Exarchopoulos, "Blue is the Warmest Color"; runner-ups: Cate Blanchett, "Blue Jasmine," and Sandra Bullock, "Gravity" (tie).

Best Supporting Performance by an Actor • Bill Nighy, "About Time"; runner-up: Michael Fassbender, "12 Years a Slave."

Best Supporting Performance by an Actress • Scarlett Johansson, "her"; runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, "American Hustle."

Best Original Screenplay • Simon Pegg & Edgar Wright, "The World's End"; runner-up: Nat Faxon & Jim Rash, "The Way, Way Back."

Best Adapted Screenplay • Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke, "Before Midnight"; runner-up: John Ridley, "12 Years a Slave."

Best Cinematography • Emmanuel Lubezki, "Gravity"; runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel, "Inside Llewyn Davis."

Best Documentary Feature • "The Act of Killing"; runner-up: "Blackfish."

Best Non-English Language Feature • "Blue Is the Warmest Color"; runner-up: "The Past."

Best Animated Feature • "Frozen"; runner-ups: "From Up on Poppy Hill" and "The Wind Rises" (tie). ["Gravity,"](|