This is an archived article that was published on in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Although he is leaving the BYU basketball team for a yet-to-be-determined institution, guard Matt Carlino attended the program's annual banquet on Wednesday night at the Nu Skin Innovation Center in downtown Provo and received the Sixth-Man Award. Not much was said about Carlino's pending departure throughout most of the banquet, but toward the end coach Dave Rose turned toward Carlino and thanked him for his two-and-a-half seasons with the Cougars. "I wish you the very best, wherever you end up," Rose said. "We will be cheering for you." Carlino, his head recently shaved, sat next to Rose's nephew, former BYU walk-on Kyle Rose, and strength and conditioning coach Bob Medina at the banquet. As is tradition, Rose presented several players with individual awards, and honored the wives of his assistant coaches. Outgoing BYU president Cecil Samuelson and his wife attended the banquet and were honored by the Rose and his wife, Cheryl. "There is not a [coaching] staff in the country that is any better than our group," Rose said of his assistants, Mark Pope, Terry Nashif, Tim LaComb and director of basketball operations Cody Fueger. LaComb missed the event to attend a family reunion in Dallas, which Rose said he encouraged. When master of ceremonies Spencer Linton of BYUtv suggested Rose should join Twitter, Rose quipped: "That probably won't happen." Oddly, the team has no seniors this year, so there were no teary send-offs. And only one player is married, Josh Sharp. The rising senior announced that he and his wife, Jordan, are expecting their first child on Oct. 2. Rose said the 2013-14 team was a remarkable group that overcame an 8-7 start to finish 23-12 and earn an NCAA Tournament at-large berth. "I will never forget this group of guys," he said. Here are the award winners: Co-Outstanding Player Award: Tyler Haws and Kyle Collinsworth Competitive Spirit Award: Eric Mika Coaches' Award: Nate Austin Most Improved Player Award: Anson Winder Sixth-Man Award: Matt Carlino Rose acknowledged the four other scholarship players in attendance who did not receive awards — Sharp, Frank Bartley IV, Skyler Halford and Luke Worthington — and said they were still a huge part of the Cougars' success this season and deserved praise for their contributions.