Home » News
Home » News

USU men's basketball: McEwen, Moore honored by conference media

Published March 5, 2017 3:33 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2017, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Utah State freshman point guard Koby McEwen has been voted freshman of the year in the Mountain West Conference by members of the media covering the conference. Senior forward Jalen Moore garnered second-team all-conference honors. McEwen also landed a spot on the all-conference third team.

The Mountain West coaches all-conference selections and end of season awards will be announced on Tuesday, but the media's selections were revealed on Sunday (full list below).

McEwen, a 6-foot-4 graduate of Wasatch Academy and the Aggies' second-leading scorer (15.4 points per game during conference play), ranked 12th in the conference in scoring, eighth in assists (3.0 per game), third in 3-point shooting percentage (42.5 percent) and ninth in 3-point field goals made (2.1 per game) in Mountain West games.

Moore, a 6-foot-9 small forward, ranked among the top 10 in scoring (seventh, 16.5 ppg), field goal percentage (ninth, 44.7 percent), free throw percentage (seventh, 81.5 percent), 3-point shooting percentage (second, 42.6 percent) and 3-pointers per game (seventh, 2.2) in Mountain West games.

Colorado State senior guard Gian Clavell earned player of the year and first-team all-conference honors. His teammate and senior forward Emmanuel Omogbo joined him on the first team along with Nevada senior guard Marcus Marshall and sophomore forward Cameron Oliver as well as San Jose State's sophomore forward Brandon Clarke.

Colorado State head coach Larry Eustachy won coach of the year honors, while voters selected Nevada's Marshall as newcomer of the year and Oliver as defensive player of the year. Wyoming guard Justin James won sixth man of the year voting.

Every Mountain West market was represented in all-conference voting. In markets where more than one outlet covers a team closely, reporters from competing publications put together a joint ballot.

Voters ranked their top 15 players for first-, second- and third-team All-MW with their player of the year pick receiving 15 points and the last man on the third-team receiving one point.

1st Team

Gian Clavell, Colorado State, Sr. – 154

Marcus Marshall, Nevada, Sr. – 147

Emmanuel Omogbo, Colorado State, Sr. – 132

Brandon Clarke, San Jose State, So. – 129

Cameron Oliver, Nevada, So. – 118

2nd Team

Chandler Hutchinson, Boise State, Jr. – 113

Elijah Brown, New Mexico, Sr. – 106

Jordan Caroline, Nevada, So. – 88

Jalen Moore, Utah State, Sr. – 80

Deshon Taylor, Fresno State, So. – 58

3rd Team

D.J. Fenner, Nevada, Sr. – 51

Koby McEwen, Utah State, Fr. – 31

Trey Kell, San Diego State, Jr. – 28

Jaron Hopkins, Fresno State, Jr. – 24

Jovan Mooring, UNLV, Jr. – 14

Honorable mention: Hayden Graham, Air Force; Prentiss Nixon, CSU; Dakarai Allen, San Diego State; Zylan Cheatham, San Diego State; Paris Austin, Boise State; Hayden Dalton, Wyoming; Justin James, Wyoming; Tim Williams, New Mexico;

Player of the Year: Gian Clavell, Colorado State (4)

Coach of the Year: Larry Eustachy, Colorado State (8)

Newcomer of the Year: Marcus Marshall, Nevada (8)

Freshman of the Year: Koby McEwen, Utah State (11)

Defensive Player of the Year: Cameron Oliver, Nevada (4)

Sixth Man of the Year: Justin James, Wyoming (7)

Others receiving award votes

Player of the Year: Marcus Marshall, Nevada; Cameron Oliver, Nevada; Emmanuel Omogbo, CSU.

Coach of the Year: Eric Musselman, Nevada; Dave Wojcik, San Jose State.

Newcomer of the Year: Jordan Caroline, Nevada; Deshon Taylor, Fresno State.

Defensive Player of the Year: Dakarai Allen, San Diego State; Brandon Clarke, San Jose State; Emmanuel Omogbo, CSU; Jaron Hopkins, Fresno State.

Sixth Man of the Year: Paris Austin, Boise State; Hayden Dalton, Wyoming.






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus