Home » News
Home » News

South Jordan chooses new mayor

Published January 4, 2012 6:58 am
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Scott Lee Osborne is the new mayor of South Jordan — at least for the next two years.

The City Council unanimously appointed Osborne on Tuesday to fulfill the remaining two years of Kent Money's mayoral term. Money is stepping down to take a work assignment from his employer — the LDS Church — developing properties in New Zealand.

Osborne, a 30-year resident of the city, is a political newcomer who believes the city is on the right course to become a "destination" in the Salt Lake Valley. His experience lies primarily in the business community, where he owns and operates several businesses. Osborne's Engineering Supply Co. sells architectural and engineering supplies, while his Vision Perfect Software Inc. creates programs to run golf tournaments with features such as tournament management and online registration. Osborne also owns a small real estate management company, Millennium III Properties.

Osborne beat out several former South Jordan City Council members for the job, as well as members of the planning commission, a former mayor's son and even a former mayor of neighboring Riverton, Dale Gardiner.

The decision was a weighty one for the council, with member Brian Buttars asking for divine guidance during the invocation. Three members — Steve Barnes, Chuck Newton and Mark Seethaler — just began their terms of office Tuesday afternoon. Choosing a mayor was the first vote for the trio.

The council allowed each applicant three minutes to present their case, sequestering the others while each one spoke. The order was determined by selecting numbered pingpong balls from a hat.

Osborne won't have time to rest on his laurels. Money stepped down Tuesday, and Osborne was immediately sworn in to continue the remaining business in the meeting.

Osborne encouraged the other applicants to continue serving the city, and said he looks forward to working with all of them.

"Get involved, become part of the city, be active with this," Osborne said. "This isn't the end of the road." —

Complete list of mayoral candidates

Linda L. Auger

Kevin Matthew Beck

Edwin E. Blaney

Robert Arthur Bolduc

Thomas L. Christensen

Dale Farr Gardner

Larry Theron Hutchings

Kathie Johnson

Bradley G. Marlor

James R. Nelson

Scott Lee Osborne

Stanley S. Postma

Aleta Taylor

Robert D. Willardson

Jay B. Wimmer

Leona Winger

Gregory A. Wise

David Wood

Mark T. Woolley






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus