Home » News
Home » News

Winners announced for first-ever statewide Student Concerto Competition

Published February 23, 2012 4:08 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Three music students from Utah State University, Orem High School and the American Preparatory Academy are the top-prize winners in the first-ever statewide Student Concerto Competition sponsored by the Utah Wind Symphony and Legacy Music Alliance (the latter led by businessman Gaylen Rust and Dr. Craig Jessop, above, dean of the Caine College of the Arts at USU and former director of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir).

Emerging as best of class in competitive auditions at the collegiate, high school and junior high school levels were Whitney Mensink, flute, Utah State University; Brittney Theurer, saxophone, Orem High School, and Max Robert Dobson, euphonium, American Preparatory Academy.As winners in the collegiate and high school categories, Mensink and Theurer will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

As a winner in the junior high school category, Dobson will be awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

Mensink, Theurer and Dobson will also perform in concert with the Utah Wind Symphony March 29 at the Rose Wagner Center for the Performing Arts.Other winners in the competition who will receive a $1,500 scholarship include Cynthia Chen, flute, University of Utah; and Adam Snider, tuba, University of Utah, at the collegiate level; and Nathan Affleck, trombone, Brighton High School; and Tracy Furr, marimba, Mountain View High School, at the high school level.

Ashley Fleming, flute, Bennion Junior High, won at the junior high school level and was as given a $1,000 scholarship.

A total of $11,000 was awarded.Competition participants were required to submit a DVD recording video from a list of musical works. Finalists were then selected for a live audition held in late January and from that group, scholarship winners were chosen by a panel of judges.




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus