Home » News
Home » News

Spurs' Popovich named NBA coach of the year; Jazz's Corbin finishes seventh

Published July 1, 2012 12:01 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

San Antonio — The Spurs' Gregg Popovich was named Tuesday as 2011-12 NBA coach of the year.

It's the second time Popovich has received the honor, which he was first awarded during the 2002-03 season.

The four-time NBA champion received 467 points this year, including 77 first-place votes, from a panel of 119 sports writers and broadcasters.

Popovich said the Spurs did less with more during a lockout-shortened season. He credited San Antonio owner Peter Holt and general manager R.C. Buford with annually giving him strong pieces to work with.

"I am the beneficiary," Popovich said. "I am the guy that's going to get the award. It's really not mine. It belongs to everybody."

Jazz coach Tyrone Corbin finished seventh, earning one second-place vote and six third-place votes.

Popovich led the Spurs to a 50-16 record this season. The mark tied Chicago for the best overall record in the NBA and earned San Antonio the No. 1 seed in the Western Conference playoffs.

The Spurs hold a 1-0 series lead against Utah in a first-round matchup.

Game 2 is 5 p.m. MT Wednesday in San Antonio.

Brian T. Smith

Twitter: @tribjazzPress release:NEW YORK – San Antonio's Gregg Popovich is the recipient of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2011-12 NBA Coach of the Year, the NBA announced today.Popovich, who also earned the honor in 2002-03, totaled 467 points, including 77 first-place votes, from a panel of 119 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote. The award was tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.In his 16th season as head coach of the Spurs, Popovich guided San Antonio to a league-tying-best 50-16 (.758) record. With Popovich at the helm, the Spurs ranked second in the league in scoring (103.7 ppg) and point-differential (+7.2). In the second half of the season, however, the Spurs were the league's most dominant team, posting an NBA-best 26-6 (.813) record while averaging league highs in scoring (108.3 ppg) and point-differential (+10.8). In the process, Popovich guided the Spurs to their 15th consecutive postseason berth, which is the longest active streak in the NBA.The Spurs finished the season winning 10 straight games, 24 of their last 27 and 38 of their last 45. San Antonio won at least 50 games for the 13th consecutive season – all under Popovich's tenure – surpassing the Los Angeles Lakers (1979-80 to 1990-91) for the longest streak in NBA history. The Spurs also set a franchise mark with three double-digit winning streaks.Popovich was named the Coach of the Month in February and March, giving him 14 Coach of the Month awards in his career, the most in league annals. His back-to-back wins marked the second time Popovich earned consecutive coaching honors (November and December, 2010).The longest tenured coach with the same team in all four major professional sports, Popovich holds the best winning percentage of the longest tenured coaches in the other three major professional sports (.679). In addition, his 847 victories with the Spurs ranks second all-time in NBA history for most wins with one team (Jerry Sloan, Utah Jazz, 1,127)Popovich also supports the NBA Coaches for Kids program, a league initiative in partnership with the NBA Coaches Association and Boys & Girls Clubs of America launched during the 2008-09 NBA season. To date, the program has provided more than 155,000 Boys & Girls Club members with the chance to attend NBA games. Youth participants also have the opportunity to meet with NBA coaches, general managers and athletic trainers and learn the fundamentals of the game, the values of sportsmanship and teamwork, and the benefits of a healthy lifestyle.The Coach of the Year Award is named after legendary coach and Hall of Famer Red Auerbach who guided the Celtics to nine NBA Championships. In 1996, Auerbach was honored as one of the Top 10 Coaches in NBA History as the NBA celebrated its 50th anniversary.Following are the balloting results for the 2011-12 NBA Coach of the Year award and the all-time list of winners:2011-12 NBA COACH OF THE YEAR RESULTSCoach, Team 1st 2nd 3rd PtsGregg Popovich, San Antonio 77 24 10 467Tom Thibodeau, Chicago 27 53 21 315Frank Vogel, Indiana 7 27 45 161Lionel Hollins, Memphis 6 3 11 50Doc Rivers, Boston 1 4 9 26Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City 0 2 3 9Tyrone Corbin, Utah 0 1 6 9George Karl, Denver 1 0 2 7Mike Brown, L.A. Lakers 0 1 1 4Stan Van Gundy, Orlando 0 1 1 4Larry Drew, Atlanta 0 0 3 3Monty Williams, New Orleans 0 1 0 3Vinny Del Negro, L.A. Clippers 0 0 2 2Kevin McHale, Houston 0 0 2 2Alvin Gentry, Phoenix 0 0 1 1ALL-TIME NBA COACH OF THE YEAR WINNERS1962-63 - Harry Gallatin, St. Louis1963-64 - Alex Hannum, San Francisco1964-65 - Red Auerbach, Boston1965-66 - Dolph Schayes, Philadelphia1966-67 - Johnny Kerr, Chicago1967-68 - Richie Guerin, St. Louis1968-69 - Gene Shue, Baltimore1969-70 - Red Holzman, New York1970-71 - Dick Motta, Chicago1971-72 - Bill Sharman, Los Angeles1972-73 - Tom Heinsohn, Boston1973-74 - Ray Scott, Detroit1974-75 - Phil Johnson, Kansas City-Omaha1975-76 - Bill Fitch, Cleveland1976-77 - Tom Nissalke, Houston1977-78 - Hubie Brown, Atlanta1978-79 - Cotton Fitzsimmons, Kansas City1979-80 - Bill Fitch, Boston1980-81 - Jack McKinney, Indiana1981-82 - Gene Shue, Washington1982-83 - Don Nelson, Milwaukee1983-84 - Frank Layden, Utah1984-85 - Don Nelson, Milwaukee1985-86 - Mike Fratello, Atlanta1986-87 - Mike Schuler, Portland1987-88 - Doug Moe, Denver1988-89 - Cotton Fitzsimmons, Phoenix1989-90 - Pat Riley, LA Lakers1990-91 - Don Chaney, Houston1991-92 - Don Nelson, Golden State1992-93 - Pat Riley, New York1993-94 - Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta1994-95 - Del Harris, Los Angeles Lakers1995-96 - Phil Jackson, Chicago1996-97 - Pat Riley, Miami1997-98 - Larry Bird, Indiana1998-99 - Mike Dunleavy, Portland1999-00 - Doc Rivers, Orlando2000-01 - Larry Brown, Philadelphia2001-02 - Rick Carlisle, Detroit2002-03 - Gregg Popovich, San Antonio2003-04 - Hubie Brown, Memphis2004-05 - Mike D'Antoni, Phoenix2005-06 - Avery Johnson, Dallas2006-07 - Sam Mitchell, Toronto2007-08 - Byron Scott, New Orleans2008-09 - Mike Brown, Cleveland2009-10 – Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City2010-11 – Tom Thibodeau, Chicago2011-12 – Gregg Popovich, San Antonio




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus