This is an archived article that was published on in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Throughout Utah, 20 counties held primaries for commission and council seats, while voters narrowed the fields in school board races and approved two multimillion-dollar school construction bonds.

Murray voters overwhelmingly passed a $33 million bond to build a new Hillcrest Junior High, according to unofficial returns. The measure, with nearly 70 percent backing, will require a $58 property tax increase on a $200,000 house.

The existing school was built in 1948 and has been remodeled multiple times, according to district officials.

Weber School District voters embraced a $65 million bond to build four schools to replace five existing ones: West Weber Elementary, Wahlquist Junior High, North Park Elementary, as well as Marlon Hills Elementary and Club Heights Elementary (which would be consolidated). The district has mushroomed by 1,649 students since the last bond.

Under the current bond, property owners would see no increase in property taxes, according to officials, because the district restructured its debt.

In North Ogden, residents rejected Proposition 1, which called for $7 million in bonds for a new public works facility.

In Summit County, voters in the North Summit Recreation District shot down an $8.5 million bond for a new recreation center.

Also in Summit County, Max Greenhalgh edged Michael Howard in the Republican primary for County Council Seat A. In the Democratic runoff for that seat, Roger Armstrong outpaced Sean Wharton.

In Utah County, Commissioner Larry Ellertson defeated Lorne Grierson, according to incomplete returns.

In Davis County, Commissioner John Petroff Jr. fended off fellow Republican Terry R. Spencer.

In Park City School Board contests, unofficial returns show Nancy Joy Garrison earned the most votes, followed by Ron Huggins for Seat 2. Both will move on to the November election.

In the race for Seat 3, Tania Knauer and Kristen Brown edged Paul Marsh and Anne Bransford.

The race for District 3 in the Canyons School District was a squeaker. Nancy Tingey earned a sure spot on the general election ballot, but Clay Pearce edged Cindy S. England by a mere 40 votes.

In the race for Jordan School Board's District 1 seat, the gap was wider, with J. Lynn Crane and Michael Livsey breezing past Patrick Hart.

In the GOP primary for Logan 1 seat on the Cache County Council, Cory Yeates narrowly defeated Eric T. Collins.

A Democratic primary for Carbon County Commission saw Mikel L. Johnson claim a close victory over David Smith.

And, in Iron County, Alma Adams outpaced David Miller in the GOP primary for County Commission.

comments powered by Disqus