Home » News
Home » News

Sundance '13 names its juries

Published January 15, 2013 2:25 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Some heavyweights in Hollywood and independent film will be sitting on the juries of the 2013 Sundance Film Festival.

Festival organizers announced today the names of the members of the juries for the U.S. and World competitions, and for short films.

Here are the juries:

U.S. Documentary • Director Liz Garbus ("Love, Marilyn," "The Farm: Angola, USA"); director Davis Guggenheim ("Waiting for 'Superman'," "An Inconvenient Truth"); director Gary Hustwit ("Helvetica," "Objectified"); director Brett Morgen ("Crossfire Hurricane," "Chicago 10," "The Kid Stays in the Picture"); Diane Weyermann, executive v.p. of Participant Media's documentary unit.

U.S. Dramatic • Actor/writer/director Ed Burns ("The Brothers McMullen"); critic Wesley Morris (Pulitzer Prize winner for the Boston Globe, now writing for Grantland.com); cinematographer Rodrigo Prieto ("Argo," "Brokeback Mountain," "Babel"); movie executive Tom Rothman (former chairman of Fox Filmed Entertainment); Clare Stewart, head of exibition at the British Film Institute.

World Cinema Documentary • Sean Farnel, former director of programming at Hot Docs; film consultant/advisor Robert Hawk; editor Enat Sidi ("Jesus Camp," "Detropia").

World Cinema Dramatic • Indian director Anurag Kashyap ("Gangs of Wasseypur"); Lebanese director Nadine Labaki ("Caramel," "Where Do We Go Now?"); producer Joana Vincent, director of the Independent Filmmaker Project.

Short Film Jury • Mike Farah, presdent of production of FunnyOrDie.com; animator Don Hertzfeldt ("It's Such a Beautiful Day"); Magali Simard, short film programmer for the Toronto International Film Festival.

- Sean P. Means




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus