Home » News
Home » News

McAdams announces a dozen more appointments

Published December 21, 2012 9:50 pm

Salt Lake County • Campaign manager lands key role, while CFO retains his position.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2012, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The administration of Salt Lake County Mayor-elect Ben McAdams came into sharper focus Friday with a dozen appointments.

McAdams named Justin Miller, his campaign manager in the Nov. 6 election victory over Republican Mark Crockett, as a senior adviser and associate deputy mayor. He has previous council experience as an administrative assistant to Jani Iwamoto, who represented District 4 for one term before not seeking re-election in November.

Miller will work closely with Deputy Mayor Nichole Dunn, a holdover from outgoing Mayor Peter Corroon's team. McAdams' first appointment, her role was expanded to include chief administrative officer duties.

Three other Corroon aides were retained in this round of announcements.

A 15-year county veteran, Darrin Casper, will remain chief financial officer and will be Dunn's associate chief administrative officer. Rebecca Sanchez will continue as director of the Office of Diversity Affairs, a post she held for six years under Corroon. Kimberly Barnett will return as a senior adviser to the mayor.

McAdams reached outside of the Corroon camp for several other appointments.

He made West Jordan resident Celina Milner, an unsuccessful Democratic candidate for a state House seat in November, his community liaison and special projects director responsible for communication between community councils and the mayor.

Jeremy Keele, an attorney in the Salt Lake City office of Stoel Rives LLP and an adjunct faculty member at Brigham Young University Law School, will be McAdams' government relations director.

Also appointed Friday were David Litvack, criminal justice advisory council coordinator; Jon Hennington, executive assistant to the mayor; George Pence, constituent services specialist; Joel Freston, community liaison; and Karen Lowe and Deborah Scott, administrative assistants.

On Thursday, McAdams said Taylorsville Mayor Russ Wall will lead the department of public works and regional development, while Patrick Leary will be the county's new executive over the unincorporated townships. More appointments are still to come, McAdams said.


Twitter: @sltribmikeg






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus