Home » News
Home » News

Slamdance: Feature film and short film award recipients

Published January 25, 2013 11:00 am
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The 19th Annual Slamdance Film Festival announced the feature film and short film recipients of this year's awards in the Audience, Grand Jury, and the Sponsored Award Categories.

The award winners were announced at the annual Closing Night Awards Ceremony at the Treasure Mountain Inn. The feature competition films in the Documentary and Narrative Programs are limited to first-time filmmakers working with production budgets of less than $1 million. AUDIENCE AWARDSAudience Award for Feature Documentary: MY NAME IS FAITH by Jason Banker, Jorge Torres-Torres, Tiffany Sudela-JunkerAudience Award for Feature Narrative: HANK AND ASHA by James E. DuffGRAND JURY AWARDS – NARRATIVEThis year's Slamdance Narrative Grand Jury Prizes were selected by the panel of industry members Nancy Schafer, Meira Blaustein and Chris Gore.Grand Jury Sparky Award for Feature Narrative: THE DIRTIES by Matt Johnson. "Terrifyingly timely and brutally honest, 'The Dirties' uses film references to the extreme as dreams of youth and intense growing pains collide."Special Mention: JOY DE V., by Nadia Szold. "Filled with humor, flawless characters and performances and a highly developed visual style, 'Joy de V' is a film that signals the arrival of a powerful new filmmaking talent."GRAND JURY AWARDS – DOCUMENTARYThis year's Slamdance Documentary Grand Jury Prizes were selected by the panel of industry members Daniel J. Harris, Brian Knappenberger, and Dan Schoenbrun.Grand Jury Sparky Award for Feature Documentary: BIBLE QUIZ by Nicole Teeny. "Director Nicole Teeny's careful storytelling and her subject's passion, angst, and youthful uncertainty are captured with universal empathy."Grand Jury Sparky Award for Short Documentary: THE BIRDMAN by Jessie Auritt. "We felt this slice-of-life portrait said a lot about the economy and changing way of life in a New York City neighborhood."GRAND JURY AWARDS – SHORT FILMSThis year's Short Film Grand Jury Prizes were selected by the panel of industry members Sheri Candler, Eleanor Burke, and Ron Eyal.Grand Jury Sparky Award for Animation: I AM TOM MOODY by Ainslie Henderson. "For its insight and for its playful spirit."Grand Jury Sparky Award for Short Film: ROTKOP by Jan Roosens and Raf Roosens. "For its outstanding ensemble, emotional resonance and its bold portrayal of teenage alienation."Special Mention: JOSEPHINE AND THE ROACH by Jonathan Langager. "For its richly imaginative visual style and for lead Jenna Augen."Special Mention: DONALD CRIED by Kris Avedisian. "For a standout performance, with the power to inspire empathy as well as to make you cringe."

SPECIAL & SPONSORED AWARDSSpirit of Slamdance Sparky Award Presented by Actor/Director Thomas Jane: THE DIRTIES by Matt Johnson.The Kodak Vision Award for Best Cinematography: Dieter Deventer for FYNBOS.

— David Burger




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus