This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Here are the winners for the 2013 Sundance Film Festival, announced Saturday in Park City:

Grand Jury Prize, U.S. Dramatic: "Fruitvale," directed by Ryan Coogler.

Grand Jury Prize, U.S. Documentary: "Blood Brother," directed by Steve Hoover.

Grand Jury Prize, World Cinema Dramatic: "Jiseul" (South Korea), directed by Muel O.

Grand Jury Prize, World Cinema Documentary: "A River Changes Course" (Cambodia/U.S.), directed by Kalyanee Mam.

Audience Award, U.S. Dramatic: "Fruitvale," directed by Ryan Coogler.

Audience Award, U.S. Documentary: "Blood Brother," directed by Steve Hoover.

Audience Award, World Cinema Dramatic: "Metro Manila" (UK/Philippines), directed by Sean Ellis.

Audience Award, World Cinema Documentary: "The Square" (Egypt/USA), directed by Jehane Noujaim.

Best of Next (audience award): "This Is Martin Bonner," directed by Chad Hartigan.

Audience Award, Short Film: "Catnip: Egress to Oblivion?", directed by Jason Willis.

Directing Award, U.S. Dramatic: Jill Soloway, "Afternoon Delight."

Directing Award, U.S. Documentary: Zachary Heinzerling, "Cutie and the Boxer."

Directing Award, World Cinema Dramatic: Sebastian Silva, "Crystal Fairy" (Chile).

Directing Award, World Cinema Documentary: Tinatin Gurchiani, "The Machine Which Makes Everything Disappear" (Georgia/Germany).

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award, U.S. Dramatic: Lake Bell, "In a World…".

Screenwriting Award, World Cinema Dramatic: Barmak Akram, "Wajma (An Afghan Love Story)."

Editing, U.S. Documentary: Matthew Hamachek, "Gideon's Army."

Editing, World Cinema Documentary: Ben Stark, "The Summit" (Ireland).

Cinematography Award, U.S. Dramatic: Bradford Young, "Ain't Them Bodies Saints" and "Mother of George."

Cinematography Award, U.S. Documentary: Richard Rowley, "Dirty Wars."

Cinematography Award, World Cinema Dramatic: Michal Englert, "Lasting (Nieulotne)" (Poland).

Cinematography Award, World Cinema Documentary: Marc Silver and Pau Esteve Birba, "Who Is Dayani Cristal?" (UK/Mexico).

Special Jury Prize, U.S. Dramatic: (acting) Miles Teller and Shailene Woodley, "The Spectacular Now"; (sound design) Shane Carruth and Johnny Marshall, "Upstream Color."

Special Jury Prize, U.S. Documentary: "Inequality for All," Jacob Kornbluth; "American Promise," Joe Brewster and Michele Stephenson.

Special Jury Prize, World Cinema Dramatic: "Circles (Krugovi)" (Serbia), Srban Golubovic.

Special Jury Prize, World Cinema Documentary: "Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer" (Russian Federation/UK), Mike Lerner and Maxim Pozdorovkin.


Previously announced awards:

Alfred P. Sloan Prize: "Computer Chess," directed by Andrew Bujaalski.

Sundance/NHK International Filmmaker Award: Kentaro Hagiwara, director/co-writer, "Spectacular Tiger" (to be produced)

Short Film Grand Jury Award: "The Whistle" (Poland), directed by Grzegorz Zariczny.

Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction • "Whiplash," written and directed by Damien Chazelle.

Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction • "The Date," written and directed by Jenni Toivoniemi (Finland).

Short Film Jury Award: Non-fiction • "Skinningrove," directed by Michael Almereyda.

Short Film Jury Award: Animation • "Irish Folk Furniture," directed by Tony Donoghue (Ireland).

Short Film Special Jury Award for Acting • Joel Nagle in "Palimpsest," directed by Michael Tyburski, written by Tyburski and Ben Nabors.

Short Film Special Jury Award • "Until the Quiet Comes," written and directed by Kahlil Joseph.

comments powered by Disqus