Home » News
Home » News

How I would have voted on WCC awards, which come out Tuesday

Published March 4, 2013 10:24 am
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

With another West Coast Conference men's basketball regular season in the books, the league will present its All-Conference honors on Tuesday. The conference tournament begins Wednesday at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas with No. 9 Loyola Marymount taking on No. 8 Portland. Media members don't get to vote on the awards in the WCC (as we did in the Mountain West Conference, some years). Players are nominated by their head coaches and the all-conference teams and individual awards are voted on by the nine head coaches. For fun, though, I've put together my ballot — these are the guys I would have voted for if I had been asked: Player of the Year: Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga (Wasn't the league leader in any major statistical category, but clearly the league's overall best player. His numbers would have been even better if the Zags weren't so dominant; he sat many, many times in the second halves of blowouts). Coach of the Year: Mark Few, Gonzaga (No. 1 ranking in both major college basketball polls and probable No. 1 seed in NCAA Tournament says it all). Defensive Player of the Year: Gary Bell Jr., Gonzaga (This was a tough one to pick, but I will go with Bell because he was largely responsible for BYU's Tyler Haws going 0 for 9 in Spokane). Newcomer of the Year: Stacy Davis, Pepperdine (To me, this was a two-man race between Davis, a freshman, and San Francisco's De'End Parker, a junior who transferred from UCLA; I went with Davis because he was not only a decent scorer, 21st in the league, but also a rebounder — fifth in the league). By the way, BYU's Tyler Haws, who returned from a two-year church mission last spring, is not eligible for the Newcomer of the Year award. The award criteria says to be eligible a player must be a freshman or a transfer student in his first year with the team. Haws was eligible for the preseason all-conference team, but didn't make it. Then again, neither did Olynyk, who redshirted last year. 10-Player First Team: * Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga (4th in scoring, 7th in rebounding, 5th in blocked shots) * Elias Harris, Gonzaga (9th in scoring, 5th in rebounding) * Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga (Other numbers aren't great, but No. 1 in assist-turnover ratio) * Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's (6th in scoring, 1st in assists) * Tyler Haws, BYU (1st in scoring, 17th in rebounding) * Brandon Davies, BYU (5th in scoring, 4th in rebounding) * Kevin Foster, Santa Clara (3rd in scoring, 5th in assists) * Marc Trasolini, Santa Clara (7th in scoring, 3rd in rebounding, 2nd in blocked shots) * Cole Dickerson, San Francisco (8th in scoring, 1st in rebounding) * Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount (2nd in scoring, 20th in rebounding, 7th in assists) Honorable Mention: * Cody Doolin, San Francisco (14th in scoring, 2nd in assists)* Lorne Jackson, Pepperdine (11th in scoring) * Ryan Nicholas, Portland (13th in scoring, 2nd in rebounding) * Ashley Hamilton, LMU (12th in scoring) * Evan Roquemore, Santa Clara (15th in scoring, 4th in assists) * Brad Waldow, Saint Mary's (26th in scoring 12th in rebounding) * Chris Anderson, San Diego (30th in scoring, 3rd in assists) * Johnny Dee, San Diego (10th in scoring, first in FT percentage) * Matt Carlino, BYU (6th in assists, 22nd in scoring) * Stacy Davis, Pepperdine (21st in scoring, 5th in rebounding) * Gary Bell Jr., Gonzaga (defensive stopper) * Stephen Holt, Saint Mary's Five-Player All-Freshman Team * Stacy Davis, Pepperdine * Jett Raines, Pepperdine * Avry Holmes, USF * Mark Tollefsen, San Francisco * Tim Derksen, San Francisco Other freshmen considered: Jito Kok, San Diego; Kyle Dranginis, Gonzaga; Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga; Jordan Guisti, Saint Mary's; Oskars Reinfelds, Portland; Nick Stover, LMU; Cory Calvert, BYU




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus