Home » News
Home » News

Big Sky Basketball: WSU's Berry, Bamforth earn first team honors; SUU's duo named second team

Published March 11, 2013 4:04 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Weber State's Scott Bamforth and Davion Berry earned 2013 Big Sky All-Conference First Team honors, Bamforth for the second time, as the Wildcats (24-5, 18-2) enter the BSC Tournament on Thursday in Missoula, Mont., as the second seed against Northern Arizona.

Berry, a junior who transfered from Division II Cal State Monterey Bay, was also selected the Newcomer of the Year.

Southern Utah's Damon Heuir and Jackson Stevenett were second team selections. The Thunderbirds open tournament play Thursday against Northern Colorado.

WSU junior center Kyle Tresnak was named to the second team, while senior forward Frank Otis was a honorable mention choice.

Bamforth, a senior, scored 13.3 points and led the Big Sky in free throw percentage (88.1 percent). Bamforth was also the ninth best 3-point shooter by percentage in the nation.

Berry led the Wildcats in scoring at 15.1 points per game and scored 20 or more nine times. He led the Wildcats in scoring 13 times during the season. Tresnak averaged 11.5 points and 5.6 rebounds for the Wildcats.

Montana's Kareem Jamar was named the BSC's MVP.

First Team • Kareem Jamar, Montana; Scott Bamforth, Weber State; Derrick Barden, Northern Colorado; Davion Berry, Weber State; Will Cherry, Montana; Troy Huff, North Dakota; Gabe Rogers, Northern Arizona

Second Team • Aaron Anderson, North Dakota; Damon Heuir, Southern Utah; Jackson Stevenett, Southern Utah; Kyle Tresnak, Weber State; Tate Unruh, Northern Colorado; Mathias Ward, Montana

Honorable Mention • Venky Jois, Eastern Washington; Chris Hansen, Idaho State; Jordan Gregory, Montana; Flavien Davis, Montana State; Christian Moon, Montana State; Stallon Saldivar, Northern Arizona; Aaron Moore, Portland State; John Dickson, Sacramento State; Dylan Garrity, Sacramento State; Frank Otis, Weber State.




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus