Home » News
Home » News

Dubach steps down at Bingham; Some all-region honors

Published March 13, 2013 11:34 am
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The excitement of the state basketball tournaments was less than two weeks ago, so here's a little update on some hoops news.

First Bingham High will be looking for a new boys' coach as well as a new girls' coach. Kyle Goon reported that Rand Rasmussen will retire as the girls' coach. But boys' coach Mark Dubach also is stepping aside.

Dubach became the Bingham coach in 2003 and led the Miners to seven consecutive region titles and the state title in 2006. His Miners finished this season 14-10 after falling to Alta in a Class 5A playoff opener.

In other hoops news, the regions are releasing their all-region teams, and here are the few we've received so far:

Region 3

MVP • Brandon Miller, Brighton

Most outstanding player • Travis Devashrayee, Brighton

First team • Landon Albrecht, Alta; RJ Beard, Alta; Trevor Hill, Alta; Zach Bernardo, Brighton; Brandon Pasker, Jordan; Chandler Smith, Jordan; Darius Maluia, Copper Hills; Austin McCombs, Copper Hills; Brendan Guzman, Cottonwood; Parker Brown, West Jordan

Region 5

MVP • Jalen Moore Sky View

Defensive MVP • Tyler Crosbie Mt. Crest

Coach of the year • Dan McClure, Roy

First team • Shad Watson, Box Elder; Tyler Crosbie, Mountain Crest; Brekkott Chapman, Roy; Ty Nielsen, Sky View; Faimafili Laulu-Pututau, Mountain Crest

Second team • Tanner Knowles, Mountain Crest; Mason Rich, Bonneville; Tyler Bate, Box Elder; Tyler Brimhall, Logan; Taylor Compton, Logan

Honorable mention • Eddy Hall, Mountain Crest; Jamison Webb, Mountain Crest; David Hadley, Roy; Jesse Wayment, Roy; Luke Falk, Logan; Jordon Larsen, Logan; Dallin Dahl, Logan; Matt Dewey, Sky View; Mitch Larsen, Sky View; Isaac Malone, Box Elder; Carson Smith, Bonneville; Dakota Buckway, Bonneville

Region 6

MVP • Sam Merrill, Bountiful

First team • Parker Van Dyke, East; David Divver, Highland; Zac Seljaas, Bountiful; Todd Connolly, Highland; Mitch Grant, East; Marquis Jones, Clearfield

Second team • Skyler Farnes, Woods Cross; Brady Cowley, Woods Cross; Hayden Grant, Woods Cross; John Fakahafua, East; Connor Squire, Cyprus

Honorable mention • Riley Tucker, Highland; Jeff Pollard, Bountiful; Marcus Quig, Cyprus; Kyler Moore, Clearfield; Pere Le Sueur, Bountiful; Henry Morris, Highland; Mikey Jacobsen, Woods Cross

Region 8

MVP • Dalton Nixon, jr., Orem; Zach Hunsaker, sr., Orem

First team • Alejandro Llamas, sr., Salem Hills; Taylor Roy, sr., Timpview; Dax Raymond, sr., Timpview; Bradley Kitchen, Sr.-Springville; Max Schriener, jr., Springville; Josh Phelps, sr., Maple Mountain; Andrew Finch, sr., Provo

Second team • Nate Guymon, sr., Maple Mountain; Quinn Peters, jr., Orem; Cole Gordon, sr., Provo; Trevor Schade, sr., Timpanogos; Ryan Warner, jr., Mountain View

Honorable mention • Cooper Holt, jr., Orem; Ben Johnson, jr., Springville; Brian Carter, sr., Provo; Jaxon Beck, sr., Timpanogos; Manuel Ortiz Fernandez, jr., Mountain View; Dallin Bosco, sr., Provo

Region 12

MVP • Ty Henry, Spanish Fork

First team • Jake Bailey, North Sanpete; Taylor Bahr, Delta; Cameron Money, Spanish Fork; Daniel Reno, Payson; Kaleb Wright, Payson; Derek Young, Carbon

Second team • Jordan Blanc, Carbon; Dakota Cisneros, Carbon; Hunter Johnson, Delta; Curtis Orme, Juab; Benson Rhees, Spanish Fork

Honorable mention • Jordan Christensen, North Sanpete; Jordan Smith, Delta; Brycen Wood, Payson; Dallin Rowley, Payson; Jacob Humphreys, Payson; Kaden Keson, Juab; Jeff Rowley, Juab; Taylor Parker, Spanish Fork; Hayes Hall, Spanish Fork

— Kevin Winters Morriss —




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus